April 27, 2023
Awards News

Recipients of 16th Television Academy Honors Announced

Award Recognizes Programs and Producers Who Channel the Power of Television to Advance Social Change

The Television Academy announced today the recipients of its 16th Television Academy Honors, recognizing six remarkable television programs and their producers who have harnessed the extraordinary power of storytelling to fuel social change.

The honorees include two documentary specials, one documentary/nonfictionseries, two scripted series and one reality series, representing some of the mostsignificant and impactful television of 2022. They are 37 Words, As We See It, Mo, The Rebellious Life of Mrs. Rosa Parks, The U.S. and the Holocaust and We're Here.

Each year, Television Academy Honors celebrates programs across numerous platforms and genres that raise awareness about complex issues facing society. This year's honorees produced compelling programs—in both fictional and nonfictional works—that address neurodiversity; civil rights; LGBTQ+ rights; equal rights for women; the experience of immigrants and refugees; and racism, xenophobia and antisemitism.

"These exceptional programs and producers have used television to adeptly address some of the most significant and challenging issues facing communities across the globe," said Television Academy Chairman and CEO Frank Scherma. "Our medium is incredibly powerful, and these six programs have leveraged it to inspire
transformational change."

Bryan Leder, Governor for the Professional Representatives Peer Group, chaired this year's Television Academy Honors selection committee with Kim Taylor-Coleman, C.S.A., Governor for the Casting Directors Peer Group, serving as vice chair.

"It was a robust year of outstanding and thought-provoking submissions that represent the histories and voices of storytellers. This year's Honors recipients reflect an intersectionality of topics with unique perspectives that are accessible to all," said Leder. "The committee applauds all the hard work that writers, actors, directors, producers and their teams expended in pursuit of creating meaningful and impactful content," added Taylor-Coleman. "While narrowing down the field was difficult, this year's winners were especially distinguished and deserved to be singled out."

The Honors recipients will be celebrated during a recognition ceremony slated for May 31.

In addition to this year's honorees, the Honors selection committee is giving special recognition to the documentary series Profiled: The Black Man (Discovery+) produced by A. Smith & Co. Productions. The program will receive a certificate acknowledging its thought-provoking social justice content.

Recipients of the 16th Television Academy Honors are:

37 Words (ESPN Films, Industrial Media and Trilogy Films)
The full story of Title IX—the hard-fought battle to push for equal rights in education and athletics, the decades-spanning effort to nullify its impact, and the rippling impacts of the landmark civil rights law that continue to resonate today. This four-part documentary charts the spectacular transformation that 37 words have inspired in American culture and the lives of women as well as the many ways in which the spirit of this bold law has yet to be fully realized. (ESPN)

As We See It (True Jack Productions; Yes Studios; Universal Television; Amazon Studios)
This empathetic comedy series follows 20-something roommates with Autism as they strive to get a job, keep a job, make friends, fall in love and navigate a world that eludes them. With the help of their families, aides and sometimes each other, these roommates experience setbacks and celebrate triumphs on their own unique journeys toward independence and acceptance. (Prime Video)

Mo (A24)
The heartfelt comedy that follows Palestinian refugee Mo Najjar as he straddles the line between two cultures and three languages while constantly living one step away from asylum on the path to U.S. citizenship. Mo brilliantly captures the experience of immigrants and refugees navigating institutional systems. (Netflix)

The Rebellious Life of Mrs. Rosa Parks (A Peacock Original, SO'B Productions)
This comprehensive feature delves deep into the life of civil rights icon Rosa Parks, her historic work and her role in the Montgomery Bus Boycott. Through interviews with those who knew her, powerful archival footage and her own words, this documentary tells the story of Parks' extensive organizing, radical politics and lifelong dedication to activism. (Peacock)

The U.S. and the Holocaust (Florentine Films and WETA, Washington, D.C.)
Inspired in part by the United States Holocaust Memorial Museum's "Americans and the Holocaust" exhibition and supported by its historical resources, this documentary examines the rise of Hitler and Nazism in Germany in the context of global antisemitism and racism, the eugenics movement in the United States and race laws in the American South. (PBS)

We're Here (HBO Max)
This Emmy Award-winning series follows renowned drag queens Bob the Drag Queen, Eureka O'Hara and Shangela on a journey to find deeper truths in small-town America, spreading love and connection through the art of drag. The queens recruit a diverse group of local residents to share their stories, increase awareness and promote acceptance in their communities by participating in one-night-only drag shows, at times facing increased opposition and anti-LGBTQ+ legislation laws. (HBO Max)

The Television Academy Honors is sponsored by Drybar, Franciacorta, JUSTIN Vineyards & Winery, People and United Airlines.

About the Television Academy
The Television Academy strives to shape and advance the dynamic television landscape; cultivate a diverse, inclusive and accessible professional community; and advocate for the television industry while capturing the spirit of a new generation of content creators and industry professionals. Through innovative programs, publications and events, the Academy and its Foundation foster and empower storytellers. The Academy also celebrates those who excel in the industry recognizing their achievements through awards and accolades, including the renowned Emmy Award. Membership in the Academy is open to working professionals in the television industry. For more information, please visit TelevisionAcademy.com.

Stephanie Goodell
breakwhitelight for the Television Academy

For the complete press release, click here

Browser Requirements
The TelevisionAcademy.com sites look and perform best when using a modern browser.

We suggest you use the latest version of any of these browsers:


Visiting the site with Internet Explorer or other browsers may not provide the best viewing experience.

Close Window