Social Icons
August 12, 2013

Sister Organizations

The Los Angeles-based Television Academy administers the Emmy Awards, which recognize excellence in national primetime programming and are a symbol of peer recognition from over 24,000 Television Academy members. Two New York City-based sister organizations bestow Emmy Awards to other sectors of television programming.

International Academy of Television Arts & Sciences

The International Academy of Television Arts & Sciences is the world's largest organization of global broadcasters, with representatives from over fifty countries on its board of directors. Sixty of the one hundred directors on the board are from countries outside of the U.S, representing the world's largest production, distribution and broadcast companies.

The International Academy was founded in 1969 to promote excellence in international television and awards International Emmys to the best television programs produced outside the U.S. The International Academy is a division of the National Academy of Television Arts & Sciences; but operates under its own Board of Directors with a global focus.

Every November, The International Academy produces the iEMMYs Festival and International Emmy Awards Gala in New York City. The iEMMYs Festival screens the current year's International Emmy-nominated programs with producers and directors in attendance. The International Emmy Awards Gala follows, awarding the International Emmy to the best television programs produced outside the U.S. This internationally televised, attracts over one thousand major figures in broadcast, entertainment and media from around the world.

For more information, visit The International Academy of Television Arts & Sciences.

National Academy of Television Arts & Sciences

Founded in 1957, the National Academy of Television Arts & Sciences (NATAS) recognizes excellence in television with the coveted Emmy Award for News & Documentary, Sports, Daytime, Public Service and Technology. NATAS, which operates independently of the Television Academy in Los Angeles, is dedicated to the advancement of the arts and sciences of television and promotion of creative leadership for artistic, educational and technical achievements within these sectors of television industry.

The National Academy membership is made up of television professionals from twenty regional chapters. Each chapter hosts regional awards for non-national programming.

Regional Chapters

Nineteen chapters of the National Academy of Television Arts & Sciences, located across the United States, conduct regional awards to recognize excellence in all the regional television markets. Because our headquarters, the Television Academy, is located in Los Angeles, our office handles regional membership and awards for the Los Angeles area only.

For further information about the National Academy and each of the regional chapters, please visit the National Academy of Television Arts & Sciences.

Must See

Emmy Nominations Announced

See who got nominated for Emmys this year.
Watch the replay and get all the details.

In My Opinion: Logan Browning

Our continuing series of opinion pieces from industry leaders and professionals, sharing ideas, fostering dialogue, and inspiring change.

Outside the Box: Artificial

This innovative Emmy-winning interactive program is breaking new ground this year.

Browser Requirements
The sites look and perform best when using a modern browser.

We suggest you use the latest version of any of these browsers:

Visiting the site with Internet Explorer or other browsers may not provide the best viewing experience.

Close Window