Jeremy Allen White

Jeremy Allen White accepts the Emmy for Lead Actor in a Comedy from Martin Lawrence.

Phil McCarten/Invision/AP
Fill 1
Fill 1
January 15, 2024
Awards News

Success for Succession, The Bear and BEEF at 75th Emmy Awards

Succession scores six honors, including outstanding drama series for a third time; The Bear keeps pace with six of its own, including outstanding comedy; BEEF follows with five, including outstanding limited or anthology series.

The diamond anniversary of the Emmy Awards featured tributes to several classic series of the past seven decades — including I Love Lucy, The Carol Burnett Show, All in the Family, Cheers, Martin, Ally McBeal, The Sopranos, Grey's Anatomy and more

By the end of the 75th Emmys ceremony — hosted by Anthony Anderson and broadcast live on Fox — a trio of contemporary series also displayed formidable resonance. Tied for most awards with six each were the HBO drama Succession and the FX/Hulu comedy The Bear, just ahead of the Netlix limited series BEEF, which captured five.

Succession, about an aging — and ailing — billionaire and the adult children seeking to take the reins of his vast media empire, capped its fourth and final season by winning the Emmy for outstanding drama series the third time. It also won outstanding writing for creator-showrunner Jesse Armstrong, directing for Mark Mylod, lead actor for Kieran Culkin, lead actress for Sarah Snook and supporting actor for Matthew Macfadyen.

In The Bear, another family business — in this case, a Chicago sandwich shop — is the backdrop for the story of an elite chef who returns home to run the struggling working-class eatery after the death of his brother. In addition to taking the awards for outstanding comedy series, The Bear scored Emmys for Jeremy Allen White for lead actor, Ayo Edebiri for supporting actress, Ebon Moss-Bachrach for supporting actor and Christopher Storer for writing and directing.

BEEF, in which a road rage incident is the catalyst for the downward spiral of two Southern California motorists played by Ali Wong and Steven Yeun, was named outstanding limited or anthology series. It also took the awards for Wong as lead actress and Yeun as lead actor. Like The Bear, its creator, Lee Sung Jin, won two Emmys: for writing and directing.

Other acting honors went to Quinta Brunson, who took outstanding lead actress in a comedy for her performance in ABC's Abbott Elementary; Jennifer Coolidge for supporting actress in a drama for HBO's The White Lotus; Paul Walter Hauser as supporting actor in a limited or anthology series or movie for Apple TV+'s Black Bird; and Niecy Nash-Betts as supporting actress in a limited or anthology series or movie for Netflix's Dahmer — Monster: The Jeffrey Dahmer Story.

HBO's Last Week Tonight with John Oliver won the Emmys for outstanding scripted variety series and outstanding writing for a variety series.

Comedy Central's The Daily Show with Trevor Noah prevailed in the category of outstanding talk series.

For the eighth consecutive year, RuPaul's Drag Race won the Emmy for reality competition series, matching the streak of its titular host, RuPaul Charles, who achieved a milestone at the Creative Arts Emmys last weekend when he took the award for reality competition series host for the eighth year in a row.

Music icon Elton John achieved EGOT status when Elton John Live: Farewell from Dodger Stadium — the first live event streamed on Disney+ — won for outstanding live variety special.

A special honor, the Governors Award, was given to GLAAD, the world's largest lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender and queer (LGBTQ) media advocacy organization. The award, accepted by GLAAD's president and CEO Sarah Kate Ellis, recognizes the organization's dedicated work over nearly four decades to secure fair, accurate and diverse representation of LGBTQ people across all forms of media and to advocate for LGBTQ equality.

The Academy's Primetime Awards Committee was led by chair Steve Venezia and vice chairs Debra Curtis and Anya Adams.

The executive producers of the 75th Emmy Awards were Jesse Collins, Dionne Harmon and Jeannae Rouzan-Clay of Jesse Collins Entertainment.

A complete list of winners for the 75th Emmy Awards is available here.


Browser Requirements
The sites look and perform best when using a modern browser.

We suggest you use the latest version of any of these browsers:


Visiting the site with Internet Explorer or other browsers may not provide the best viewing experience.

Close Window