Governors Award

The Board of Governors of the Television Academy may, when warranted, recognize an individual, company, or organization that has made a profound, transformational, and long-lasting contribution to the arts and/or science of television by presenting them with the Governors Award.

Past recipients of the Governors Award:

2023 GLAAD
2022 Geena Davis Institute on Gender in Media
2021 Debbie Allen
2020 Tyler Perry and The Perry Foundation
2019 (No award given)
2018 Star Trek
2017 ITVS
2016 American Idol
2015 A+E Networks
2014 Marian Dougherty
2013 June Foray
2012 It Gets Better Project (co-founders Dan Savage and Terry Miller)
2011 John Walsh
2010 Norman Brokaw
Ad Council
2009 Sheila Nevins and her HBO documentary unit
2008 Planet Earth (National Geographic)
2007 American Idol Gives Back
2006 MTVu Campaign for Darfur
2005 Jerry Lewis
2004 Viacom, Inc, for its pro bono publico outreaches
2003 Lifetime network's "Stop the Violence Against Women" initiative
2002 ABC, CBS, FOX and NBC for America: A Tribute to Heroes
2001 Showtime's diversity programming
2000 A&E's The Biography Project For Schools
The Teen Files
VH1 Save The Music Foundation
1999 MTV's "Fight For Your Rights: Take a Stand Against Violence"
History Channel's "Save Our History"
1998 National Geographic Television
The Learning Channel's "Great Books" Literacy Project
1997 ABC's March Against Drugs Campaign
Comic Relief
Jac Venza
1996 USA's Erase The Hate Campaign
Turner's Native American Initiative
1995 PBS
1994 (No award given)
1993 (No award given)
1992 Ted Turner
1991 Masterpiece Theatre
1990 Leonard H. Goldenson
1989 Lucille Ball
1988 William Hanna & Joseph Barbera
1987 Grant Tinker
1986 Red Skelton
1985 Alistair Cooke
1984 Bob Hope
1983 Sylvester L. "Pat" Weaver
1982 Hallmark Cards, Inc.
1981 Elton H. Rule
1980 Johnny Carson
1979 Walter Cronkite
1978 William S. Paley

updated 1.10.24

Browser Requirements
The sites look and perform best when using a modern browser.

We suggest you use the latest version of any of these browsers:


Visiting the site with Internet Explorer or other browsers may not provide the best viewing experience.

Close Window