Social Icons
Awards News
August 23, 2019

Juried Winners for 71st Emmy Awards Announced

The Television Academy announced today the juried award winners for the 71st Emmy Awards in categories from Animation, Choreography, Interactive Programming and Motion Design. The juried awards for these categories will be presented at the 2019 Creative Arts Awards ceremonies on Saturday, Sept. 14, and Sunday, Sept. 15.

In Outstanding Individual Achievement In Animation there were seven first-time winners and one second-time winner from programs across two platforms, YouTube and Netflix. This is Kathryn Burns' second Emmy and the first Emmy awarded in the new juried category Outstanding Choreography For Scripted Programming. The Twitch platform received its first Emmy for Outstanding Innovation In Interactive Media for Artificial, and it's the third Emmy win for Artificial Executive Producer Bernie Su. Netflix comedy commentary Patriot Act with Hasan Minhaj won for Outstanding Motion Design.

The following juried winners will be presented on Saturday, Sept. 14:    

Outstanding Individual Achievement In Animation

Age of Sail • YouTube • Google Spotlight Stories and Boathouse Studios
Céline Desrumaux, Production Designer
Age of Sail • YouTube • Google Spotlight Stories and Boathouse Studios
Bruno Mangyoku, Character Designer
Age of Sail • YouTube • Google Spotlight Stories and Boathouse Studios
Jasmin Lai, Color
Carmen Sandiego • The Chasing Paper Caper • Netflix • Houghton Mifflin Harcourt Publishing and DHX Media
Elaine Lee, Background Painter
Love, Death & Robots • The Witness • Netflix • Blur Studio
Alberto Mielgo, Production Designer
Love, Death & Robots • Good Hunting • Netflix • Blur Studio
Jun-ho Kim, Background Designer

Love, Death & Robots • The Witness • Netflix • Blur Studio
David Pate, Character Animator
Love, Death & Robots • Sucker of Souls • Netflix • Blur Studio
Owen Sullivan, Storyboard Artist

Outstanding Innovation In Interactive Media
Artificial • Twitch • 96 Next
Bernie Su, Executive Producer
Evan Mandery, Executive Producer
Michael Y. Chow, Executive Producer
Bonnie Buckner, Executive Producer
Ken Kalopsis, Executive Producer
Wolves in the Walls: It's All Over • Oculus Store • Fable Studio, Facebook, Story Studio, Third Rail Projects
Fable Studio
Pete Billington, Director and Creator
Jessica Yaffa Shamash, Creative Producer and Creator
Edward Saatchi, Executive Producer

Outstanding Motion Design

Patriot Act with Hasan Minhaj • Netflix • A Netflix Original Production
Michelle Higa Fox, Creative Director
Jorge L. Peschiera, Creative Director
Yussef Cole, Head of Animation
Brandon Sugiyama, Lead Animator
Paris London Glickman, Lead Animator

To be presented on Sunday, Sept. 15 is:

Outstanding Choreography For Scripted Programming

Crazy Ex-Girlfriend • Routines: Don't Be a Lawyer, Antidepressants Are So Not a Big Deal • CW • CBS Television Studios in association with Warner Bros. Television
Kathryn Burns, Choreographer

Juried categories require all entrants to be screened by a panel of professionals in the appropriate peer group with the possibility of one, more than one or no entry being awarded an Emmy. As a consequence, there are no nominees but instead a one-step evaluation and voting procedure. Deliberations include open discussions of each entrant's work with a thorough review of the merits of awarding the Emmy.

The 2019 Creative Arts Emmy Awards presentation, executive produced by Bob Bain, will be held at the Microsoft Theater in Los Angeles beginning at 5:00 PM on Saturday, Sept. 14, and Sunday Sept. 15. and will air Saturday, Sept. 21, at 8:00 PM ET/PT on FXX.


Stephanie Goodell
breakwhitelight (for the Television Academy)

For the complete press release, click here.

Add Your Comment

Must See

Television Academy Honors Announced

Six exceptional television programs that are impacting society through thoughtful, powerful, and innovative storytelling.

Under the Cover with Little Fires

Go behind the scenes of our cover shoot with Reese Witherspoon and Kerry Washington of Little Fires Everywhere.

Eddie Murphy and Joan Rivers

Our first Throwback video: two great comics at the 35th Emmy Awards

Browser Requirements
The sites look and perform best when using a modern browser.

We suggest you use the latest version of any of these browsers:

Visiting the site with Internet Explorer or other browsers may not provide the best viewing experience.

Close Window