Social Icons
Awards News
January 28, 2020

Five New Honorees Inducted into Hall of Fame

  • Seth MacFarlane

    Seth MacFarlane accepting his induction into the Television Academy Hall of Fame.

    Mark Von Holden/Invision/AP Images

The Television Academy Hall of Fame welcomed five new honorees at an induction ceremony tonight. Friends, family, and colleagues celebrated the recipients with laughter, applause, and standing ovations. The event was held at the Saban Media Center on the Television Academy campus in North Hollywood, California.

See the 25th Hall of Fame photo gallery and watch all the presentations and acceptance speeches.

The evening opened with Television Academy Chairman and CEO Frank Scherma greeting the guests and reflecting on the importance and evolution of television.

Rick Rosen, chair of the Hall of Fame Selection Committee, followed his opening remarks by introducing Ron Howard (22nd Hall of Fame inductee).

Kerry Washington presented the honor to Robert A. Iger, Chairman and CEO of The Walt Disney Company. Watch the video.

Shonda Rhimes (24th Hall of Fame inductee) spoke of the accomplishments of honoree Cicely Tyson. Watch the video.

Legendary director (and 17th Hall of Fame inductee) James Burrows feted director Jay Sandrich. Watch the video.

Anne Sweeney, former president of the Disney/ABC Television Group, introduced honoree Geraldine Laybourne. Watch the video.

Emmy-winning producer Don Mischer delivered the honor to Seth MacFarlane. Watch the video.

After the ceremony, honorees and guests mingled at a reception in the Hall of Fame Garden.

Awards News

August 12, 2020
August 04, 2020

Must See

Call to Action: Ingrid Rogers

Actress Ingrid Rogers calls upon decision-makers in all areas of the entertainment industry to create more opportunity for women of color in leading roles.

Emmy Nominations Announced

See who got nominated for Emmys this year.
Watch the replay and get all the details.

In My Opinion: Logan Browning

Our continuing series of opinion pieces from industry leaders and professionals, sharing ideas, fostering dialogue, and inspiring change.

Browser Requirements
The sites look and perform best when using a modern browser.

We suggest you use the latest version of any of these browsers:

Visiting the site with Internet Explorer or other browsers may not provide the best viewing experience.

Close Window