September 01, 2020
Awards News

Juried Emmy Award Winners Announced

The Television Academy announced today the juried award winners for the 72nd Emmy Awards in categories from Animation, Choreography, Interactive Programming, and Motion Design. The juried awards for these categories will be presented at the 2020 Creative Arts Awards ceremony on Thursday, Sept. 17, streaming on

The 2020 Creative Arts Emmy Awards will stream on for four consecutive nights beginning Monday, Sept. 14, through Thursday, Sept. 17, at 8:00 p.m. EDT/5:00 p.m. PDT with a fifth broadcast ceremony on Saturday, Sept. 19, at 8:00 p.m. EDT/5:00 p.m. PDT on FXX. All five shows will be produced by Bob Bain Productions.

In Outstanding Individual Achievement in Animation, Genndy Tartakovsky received his fourth Emmy win, while Scott Wills won for the third time. Additionally, there were three first-time winners from three different studios: Stephen DeStefano, Jill Dykxhoorn and Dan MacKenzie. Mandy Moore received her third Emmy win with her award for Outstanding Choreography for Scripted Programming. This is the second Emmy win for Joseph Gordon-Levitt’s HITRECORD and Brian Graden Media and a first win for ARVORE Immersive Experiences in the Outstanding Innovation in Interactive Programming category. In the Outstanding Motion Design category, Leanne Dare received her second Emmy win, with Eben McCue, Sebastian Hoppe-Fuentes, David Navas all receiving their first win.

The following juried winners’ awards will be presented during the Creative Arts ceremonies:    

Outstanding Individual Achievement in Animation

Archer • Road Trip • FX Networks • FX Productions
Jill Dykxhoorn, Lead Background Artist

Cosmos: Possible Worlds • Vavilov • National Geographic • Possible Worlds LLC. in association with FOX
Dan MacKenzie, Character Animator

Genndy Tartakovsky's Primal • Spear and Fang • Adult Swim • Cartoon Network Studios
Genndy Tartakovsky, Storyboard Artist

Genndy Tartakovsky's Primal • Spear and Fang • Adult Swim • Cartoon Network Studios
Scott Wills, Art Director

Genndy Tartakovsky's Primal • A Cold Death • Adult Swim • Cartoon Network Studios
Stephen DeStefano, Character Designer

Outstanding Choreography for Scripted Programming
Zoey's Extraordinary Playlist • Routines: All I Do Is Win, I've Got the Music in Me, Crazy • NBC • Lionsgate and Universal Television in association with Zihuatanejo Productions, The Tannenbaum Company, Feigco Entertainment and Polygram Entertainment
Mandy Moore, Choreographer

Outstanding Innovation in Interactive Programming

Create Together • YouTube • HITRECORD, Brian Graden Media, YouTube Originals
Brian Graden Media
YouTube Originals
Sam Wasserman, Executive Producer
Joseph Gordon-Levitt, Executive Producer

The Line • Oculus • ARVORE Immersive Experiences
ARVORE Immersive Experiences
Facebook’s Oculus
Ricardo Laganaro, Director
Ricardo Justus, Executive Producer
Edouard de Montmort, Executive Producer

Outstanding Motion Design

Inside Bill's Brain: Decoding Bill Gates • Netflix • A Concordia Studio Production
Leanne Dare, Creative Director
Eben McCue, Animator
Sebastian Hoppe-Fuentes, Animator
David Navas, Animator

Juried categories require all entrants to be screened by a panel of professionals in the appropriate peer group with the possibility of one, more than one or no entry being awarded an Emmy. As a consequence, there are no nominees but instead a one-step evaluation and voting procedure. Deliberations include open discussions of each entrant's work with a thorough review of the merits of awarding the Emmy.


Stephanie Goodell
breakwhitelight (for the Television Academy)

For the complete press release, click here.

Browser Requirements
The sites look and perform best when using a modern browser.

We suggest you use the latest version of any of these browsers:


Visiting the site with Internet Explorer or other browsers may not provide the best viewing experience.

Close Window