Social Icons
Awards News
June 28, 2018

Samira Wiley and Ryan Eggold to Announce 70th Emmy Nominations

  • Samira Wiley and Ryan Eggold

    Samira Wiley and Ryan Eggold

    Jordan Strauss (Wiley) and Evan Agostini (Eggold)/Invision/AP
  • Samira Wiley

    Samira Wiley

    Jessica Yatrofsky
  • Ryan Eggold

    Ryan Eggold

    Maarten de Boer/NBCUniversal

The Television Academy announced today that Samira Wiley and Ryan Eggold will present the nominations for the 70th Emmy Awards from the Wolf Theatre at the Television Academy's Saban Media Center on Thursday, July 12 at 8:30 AM PT /11:30 AM ET.

Television Academy Chairman and CEO Hayma Washington will join Wiley and Eggold at the nominations ceremony, which will stream live on

Watch the announcement LIVE! Bookmark this page.

"It has been another exceptional year in television marked by extraordinary storytelling from a wealth of diverse and innovative content creators," said Washington. "We are pleased to have these two talented performers join us to announce this year's Emmy nominees and to celebrate television excellence."

Wiley is best known for her role on Hulu's critically acclaimed, Emmy-winning dystopian drama The Handmaid's Tale, which earned her an Emmy nomination for Outstanding Supporting Actress in a Drama Series. She has recently starred in Netflix's Emmy Award-winning series Orange Is the New Black and has a recurring role on the FX series You're the Worst. Wiley also had a recurring role in YouTube Red's comedic web series Ryan Hansen Solves Crimes and appeared in the 2016 film Nerve.

Eggold is set to star in NBC's new fall drama New Amsterdam in which he plays an incoming medical director who has bold new ideas on how to change the culture at the landmark hospital. Eggold previously co-starred in NBC's crime thriller The Blacklist. He also has a role in the upcoming Spike Lee film BlacKkKlansman, which arrives in theaters this August.

The 70th Emmy Awards will telecast live from the Microsoft Theater in Los Angeles, Monday, September 17 (8:00-11:00 PM ET/5:00-8:00 PM PT) on NBC. Saturday Night Live's Colin Jost and Michael Che will serve as co-hosts. The 70th Emmy Awards will be executive produced by Lorne Michaels (Saturday Night Live, The Tonight Show Starring Jimmy Fallon).

Click here for a Press Credential application to cover the 2018 Creative Arts Emmy Awards and/or the 70th Emmy Awards. The deadline for submitting a credential application is Friday, July 27 at 5:00 PM PT/ 8:00 PM ET.

Or link to the application forms at:


Stephanie Goodell

Jim Yeager

breakwhitelight for the Television Academy

For the complete press release, click here.

Add Your Comment

Must See

Hall of Fame Honorees Announced

Iger, Laybourne, MacFarlane, Sandrich, and Tyson to be inducted at 25th Hall of Fame celebration

Changes on The Crown

Meet the season 3 and 4 cast of The Crown, gracing the cover of the new emmy magazine!

New Star Trek Internship!

CBS and the Television Academy have announced a new internship program for college students nationwide to reflect the inclusive and diverse values of the Star Trek franchise.

Browser Requirements
The sites look and perform best when using a modern browser.

We suggest you use the latest version of any of these browsers:

Visiting the site with Internet Explorer or other browsers may not provide the best viewing experience.

Close Window