Winners onstage at the 42nd College Television Awards, April 1, 2023

Jordan Strauss/Invision/AP Images
April 03, 2023
Foundation News

Foundation Announces 42nd College Television Awards Winners 

Kim Fields, Camilla Luddington, Christine Ko and Nathan Mitchell Among Television Stars Who Presented Top Honors to Students From Colleges Nationwide


The Television Academy Foundation announced the winners of the 42nd College Television Awards, which recognizes and rewards excellence in student-produced programs from colleges nationwide, at a star-studded awards gala that was live streamed globally from the Saban Media Center in North Hollywood, California, on April 1.

The 2023 winners were presented awards by top television stars including Ginger Gonzaga (She Hulk: Attorney at Law; True Lies), Christine Ko (Only Murders in the Building; Dave), Jaren Lewison (Never Have I Ever), Camilla Luddington (Grey's Anatomy), Nathan Mitchell (The Boys; Ginny & Georgia), Lauren Potter (Glee), Olly Sholotan (Bel-Air) and Emmy-winning documentary producer/director and Foundation alumna Shari Cookson.

"Congratulations to all the winners of this year's competition," said Cris Abrego, chair of the Television Academy Foundation. "The Foundation is proud to showcase their exceptional work and to help jumpstart their careers as the future leaders of the industry. Our sincerest gratitude to all the presenters and partners who made this experience so memorable for our nominees and winners."

Emulating the Emmy Awards selection process, entries for the College Television Awards were judged by Television Academy members. Top honors and a $3,000 cash prize went to winning teams in seven categories:

Animation Series:

Cenote – Brigham Young UniversityAndrew Pettit, Producer
Daniel Villanueva Avalos, Director/Writer
Samantha Barroso, Director

Comedy Series:

Wei-Lai – University of Southern California
Zhongyu Wang, Director
Naomi Shroff-Mehta, Producer
Guang Xi Shi, Writer
Andy Li, Producer

Commercial, PSA or Promo:

eBay- Dear VanessaBrigham Young University
Andrew Rhee, Director/Writer
Madi Hill, Producer

Drama Series:

Provenance – University of Southern California
Bijan Kazerooni, Producer
Julia Elizabeth Evans, Producer
Lucinda Hirschfeld, Producer
Ugonna Nwabueze, Producer
Caleb Townsend, Producer/Writer
Sayali Upadhye, Producer/Writer
Vivian Gray, Director


New Orleans | Raging Storms – Montclair State University
Solana Brol, Director/Producer/Writer
Emily Dolan, Director/Producer/Writer
Louis Biondolillo, Producer/Writer
Givonna Boggans, Producer/Writer
Michelle Coneo Fernandez, Producer/Writer
Ryan Breyta, Producer/Writer
Khan Hussain, Producer/Writer
Talon Lauriello, Producer/Writer
Drew Mumich, Producer/Writer
Bernice Ndegwa, Producer/Writer
Keyshawn Reese Producer/Writer
Gabby Taylor, Producer/Writer
Carter Winner, Producer/Writer
Kaya Maciak, Producer/Writer

Nonfiction Series:

Lizzi: Deeper Than Water– Taylor University
Anna Rodman, Producer/Writer
Gabriel Burch, Director/Writer


SportsDesk – University of Miami
Danyel DeVilliers, Director/Producer
Gianna Sanchez, Producer
Derryl Barnes, Writer
Maxwell Trink, Writer
Josh White, Writer
Thomas Sullivan, Writer
Cassandra Garcia, Writer
Michelle Ng-Reyes, Writer

Two special awards were also announced during the program: The Loreen Arbus Focus on Disability Scholarship was presented to Taylor University students Anna Rodman (producer/writer) and Gabriel Burch (director/writer) for their production Lizzi: Deeper Than Water, featuring Paralympic swimmer Lizzi Smith. The $10,000 scholarship celebrates student storytellers whose work sheds light on people with disabilities and is underwritten by the Loreen Arbus Foundation. Arbus is a two-time Emmy nominee who holds the trailblazing distinction of being the first woman to head programming for a U.S. network, both at Showtime and Cable Health Network/Lifetime, and is a leading advocate for people with disabilities.

The Seymour Bricker Humanitarian Award, a $4,000 cash prize given to a College Television Award-winning project that best highlights a humanitarian concern, was awarded to Montclair State University students for their News Lab Special Edition titled, New Orleans | Raging Storms, which reported on climate change and racial injustice in New Orleans, Louisiana. This award was created over 20 years ago by the late entertainment attorney Seymour Bricker.

The 42nd College Television Awards show is available for VOD viewing at

The 42nd College Television Awards is supported by philanthropists and corporate partners including the Johnny Carson Foundation, The Walt Disney Company, PEOPLE, The Loreen Arbus Foundation and Warner Bros./Discovery.

About the Television Academy Foundation

Established in 1959 as the charitable arm of the Television Academy, the Television Academy Foundation is dedicated to preserving the legacy of television while educating and inspiring those who will shape its future. Through renowned educational and outreach programs, such as The Interviews: An Oral History of Television Project, College Television Awards and SummitStudent Internship Program, and the Media Educators Conference, the Foundation seeks to widen the circle of voices our industry represents and to create more opportunity for television to reflect all of society. For more information on the Foundation, please visit


Media Contacts:
Jane Sparango

Christina Parisi

breakwhitelight for the Television Academy

For the complete press release, click here.


Browser Requirements
The sites look and perform best when using a modern browser.

We suggest you use the latest version of any of these browsers:


Visiting the site with Internet Explorer or other browsers may not provide the best viewing experience.

Close Window