September 23, 2021
Foundation News

41st College Television Awards Entries Now Being Accepted

The Television Academy Foundation today announced the submission period is now open for the 41st College Television Awards and Summit to be held in spring 2022.

The annual College Television Awards ceremony recognizes and rewards excellence in student-produced programs from colleges and universities nationwide. An accompanying Summit provides professional development forums for both College Television Awards nominees and media students from across the country.

Emulating the Emmy Awards selection process, entries for the College Television Awards are judged by Television Academy members. Awards and cash prizes will be presented by top television stars to winning teams in six categories: Scripted Series, Animation Series, Nonfiction or Reality Series, Commercial, PSA or Promo, News and Sports, and the Loreen Arbus Focus on Disability Scholarship. Criteria for the College Television Awards reflect industry standards of excellence, imagination and innovation across categories.

The Loreen Arbus Focus on Disability Scholarship recognizes a program focused on people with disabilities or helps emerging artists with a disability gain recognition with a $10,000 award. In addition, the Seymour Bricker Humanitarian Award, a $4,000 cash prize, will be awarded to a College Television Award-winning project that best highlights a humanitarian concern.

The College Television Summit will include exclusive events and webinars designed to educate, mentor and enhance professional development for nominees prior to the awards show. Nominees will participate in "virtual visits" with television professionals from their specific fields of interest; and media students will join online panels with industry leaders focused on career-building, television production and navigating the job market ahead.

"For over 40 years, the College Television Awards has offered a diverse group of students from across the country the chance to get their work noticed by top television professionals in Hollywood and make industry connections," said Cris Abrego, chair of the Television Academy Foundation. "I'm really proud of our entire team for their continued efforts to provide industry access and exposure, as well as mentoring to the next generation of content creators."
Deadline for entries is Oct. 12, 2021, at 5:00 PM (PDT) through the online portal at

Nominees and winners of the 41st College Television Awards automatically become members of the Television Academy Foundation's alumni family, gaining access to year-round networking opportunities, events and professional development resources.

Prominent College Television Awards alumni include CNN national correspondent Natasha Chen, Escape at Dannemora executive producer Brett Johnson; Tom Clancy's Jack Ryan director Patricia Riggen; Maya and the Three executive producer Jorge Gutierrez; Lovecraft Country visualization artist Prasad Narse; Love, Victor executive producer Jason Ensler; and CBS This Morning producer Catherine Cannon.

The Television Academy Foundation will continue to monitor developments surrounding the COVID-19 pandemic to determine which, if any, events can take place in person. For now, the 41st College Television Awards is scheduled for spring 2022 at the Academy's Saban Media Center in North Hollywood, California.

About the Television Academy Foundation
Established in 1959 as the charitable arm of the Television Academy, the Television Academy Foundation is dedicated to preserving the legacy of television while educating and inspiring those who will shape its future. Through renowned educational and outreach programs, such as The Interviews: An Oral History of Television Project, College Television Awards and Summit, Student Internship and Fellowship Programs and Faculty Conference, the Foundation seeks to widen the circle of voices our industry represents and to create more opportunity for television to reflect all of society. For more information on the Foundation, please visit


Jane Sparango
breakwhitelight (for the Television Academy)

For the complete press release, click here.

Browser Requirements
The sites look and perform best when using a modern browser.

We suggest you use the latest version of any of these browsers:


Visiting the site with Internet Explorer or other browsers may not provide the best viewing experience.

Close Window