August 10, 2022
Awards News

Emmy Awards Update: Game Show Categories

The Academy of Television Arts & Sciences and the National Academy of Television Arts & Sciences have agreed to migrate Game Show categories, previously awarded in the NATAS Emmy competition, to the Emmy competition overseen by the Television Academy beginning in 2023.

The decision is the result of an agreement between the two Academies to award many programming categories by genre instead of daypart.

The new Television Academy Emmy category for Outstanding Game Show will be awarded to programs with game elements that primarily take place in-studio and involve mental challenges. They must be self-contained or carry-over (winner continues to next episode) and cannot be arced. Game Shows migrating to the Television Academy Emmys will have an 18-month eligibility window, January 1, 2022 - May 31, 2023.

The new Television Academy Emmy category Outstanding Host for a Game Show will be awarded to the "master of ceremony" host(s) for a continuing performance in a Game Show.

To avoid confusion between Outstanding Game Show and Outstanding Competition Program (which awards programs with reality-style, skill-based competitions), the category for the latter will be revised to Outstanding Reality Competition Program. Additionally, game shows and reality competition programs with solely children as contestants must enter in the Children's & Family Emmy Awards.


Press Contacts:
breakwhitelight for the Television Academy
Jim Yeager
Cell: 818.264.6812

The National Academy of Television Arts & Sciences
Paul Pillitteri
SVP, Operations & Communications

For the complete press release, click here.

Browser Requirements
The sites look and perform best when using a modern browser.

We suggest you use the latest version of any of these browsers:


Visiting the site with Internet Explorer or other browsers may not provide the best viewing experience.

Close Window