Social Icons

Social Connect

November 19, 2018

From the Chairman

Frank Scherma, Chairman and Chief Executive Officer

At the Television Academy, we spend a lot of time reflecting on, well, television.

From the intimate to the epic, from cherished memories of the past to mind-bending possibilities for the future, television is a medium like no other. In an on-demand world, the ability to watch what we want, when we want, where we want and how we want empowers us — and connects us — in ways that once seemed unimaginable.

Television doesn’t just entertain, inform and enlighten us — it’s a shortcut to understanding each other a little better. When someone tells us emphatically, “You’ve got to watch this!” what they’re really saying is, “I want you to share this experience with me.”

When it comes to shared experiences, there’s nothing quite like our annual Emmy Awards ceremonies. Beyond their core mission of honoring excellence in television, the Creative Arts Emmys and Emmy Awards telecasts are true unifiers, bringing the industry and the public together for a joyous mutual celebration of the programs we love and the people who make them.

I am thrilled to see such amazing work being honored by our Academy, and I am very proud to be in this business at this time. For a dazzling look at this year’s Emmys, anchored by a stunning portfolio from our backstage portrait studio, turn to page 60 in the magazine.

Productions on the scale of the Emmys are the result of countless hours of work by hundreds of talented professionals, and the Academy thanks everyone who contributed to this year’s shows. For their collaboration on the telecast, we thank Don Mischer Productions and Done+Dusted. We also thank this year’s broadcast partner, Fox, and our show committee, led by chair James Pearse Connelly and vice chair Peter Golden.

For the Creative Arts Emmys, we thank Bob Bain, executive producer of the two shows, along with our Creative Arts committee chair Jonathan Murray and vice-chairs Bob Bergen and Steven Kent — all of whom were also executive producers. And once again we thank FXX for bringing highlights from the Creative Arts to a national audience.

In addition, we are grateful for the support of the Academy staff and inspired by the creativity and dedication of our 25,000–plus members. Your extraordinary work — and faithful participation in our awards process — make the Emmys possible.

Frank Scherma

Chairman and CEO, Television Academy

Add Your Comment


October 15, 2019
October 11, 2019
October 10, 2019

Must See

Jason Momoa and Alfre Woodard on the Cover of Emmy!

Momoa and Woodard star in the new Apple TV+ series See.

71st Emmy Awards Winners Announced

Game of Thrones wins 12 Emmys in its final season.
Click for the complete list of winners.

Go Under the Cover with See

Go behind the scenes with Alfre Woodard and Jason Momoa for our emmy magazine cover shoot!

Browser Requirements

The sites look and perform best when using a modern browser.

We suggest you use the latest version of any of these browsers:

Visiting the site with Internet Explorer or other browsers may not provide the best viewing experience.

Close Window