Mandy Moore

Mandy Moore

Kathryn Burns

Kathryn Burns

Bob Bronow, CAS

Bob Bronow, CAS

Fill 1
Fill 1
February 08, 2017
Academy News

Announcing the New Choreography Peer Group

New Choreography and Sound Governors Elected

The Television Academy announced today the creation of a new Choreography Peer Group and the election of Emmy-winning choreographer Kathryn Burns and four-time Emmy-nominated choreographer Mandy Moore to serve as Governors for that peer group. This dynamic new membership group, the Academy's 30th, was more than three years in the making and supports the growing profession of choreography in today's thriving television landscape.

While the Television Academy has recognized choreography achievements with the Emmy Award for more than 50 years, the new peer group represents an official home for the hundreds of talented choreographers working across the industry. It is in fact television that has brought modern-day choreography and choreographers to a new global audience with hit shows like Dancing with the Stars and So You Think You Can Dance.

"We are thrilled to recognize choreographers and their contributions to television with a peer group of their own," said Television Academy Chairman and CEO Hayma Washington. "Inclusion of all professionals creating content in our medium is a top priority for the Academy, whether they are working in a significant artistic or technical segment of the industry, in established formats, or evolving digital platforms."

Academy members and industry leaders including director Gail Mancuso, producer Nigel Lythgoe, choreographer Mandy Moore, choreographer Derek Hough, choreographer duo Tabitha and Napoleon D'umo (known as Nappytabs) and choreographers Michael Rooney and Christian Perry were instrumental in establishing the group's stand-alone status, which was previously recognized as a subgroup of the Directors Peer Group. Those eligible to join the peer group are choreographers, co-choreographers, creative directors, associate choreographers, assistant choreographers and dancers.

To kickoff the formation of the new peer group, top choreographers will be taking part in "Whose Dance Is It Anyway?" - an exclusive membership event on February 16 including a series of original pieces, memorable works and artist-to-artist conversations. The event will feature renowned choreographers Mandy Moore, Kathryn Burns, Kenny Ortega, Derek Hough, Napoleon and Tabitha D'umo (AKA Nappytabs), Travis Wall, Anthony Morigerato, Rich + Tone Talauega, Christopher Scott and Fatima Robinson along with music group District 78 who have created an original piece of music for the celebration.

In addition, the Academy's Sound Peer Group elected a new Governor to replace Steven Venezia, CAS, who was elected to the Television Academy Executive Committee as second vice chair in December. Twelve-time Emmy-nominated and two-time Emmy Award-winning sound mixer Bob Bronow, CAS, will commence as the new Sound Peer Group Governor for the 2017-2018 term.

For the complete press release, click here.

Browser Requirements
The sites look and perform best when using a modern browser.

We suggest you use the latest version of any of these browsers:


Visiting the site with Internet Explorer or other browsers may not provide the best viewing experience.

Close Window