Social Icons

Social Connect

The 37th College Television Awards were held on Wednesday, May 25 at the Skirball Cultural Center in Los Angeles.

Watch the replay of the event here.

About the College Television Awards
The College Television Awards, formerly known as the Student Television Awards, was started in 1978 by a partnership between Foundation Board members Lynne Gross and Frank O'Connor, and oil man Herbert Schmertz, to recognize excellence in student work. The first Mobil-sponsored Awards ceremony was held at the Directors Guild on October 25, 1979, where six awards were handed out in two categories — the Eric Sevareid Information Program and Rod Serling Entertainment Program. Since then, the ceremony has grown to a nationwide competition that awards over 65 trophies in multiple categories.

Designed to emulate the Emmy judging process, entries are reviewed by active Television Academy members. Students submit their pieces through an online platform and undergo a three-round judging process. It it the third and final round where first, second and third placements are determined. Winners in all categories receive cash awards and are flown out to Los Angeles by our partner airline, United Airlines.

Over the years, the College Television Awards has expanded to include sponsored categories, like: Seymour Bricker Humanitarian Award, Loreen Arbus Focus on Disability Scholarship, and Mister Rogers Memorial Scholarship. These awards spotlight talented storytellers interested in entering specialized fields in entertainment. In addition to showcasing student production, the College Television Awards is an entry point for students as they pursue career opportunities.

Winners are invited to participate in a Nominee Summit at the Television Academy, where they are exposed to industry professionals and undergo development workshops. Students also become part of the Television Academy Foundation alumni network, which provides access to year-round networking opportunities and events.

Twitter: @emmysfoundation
Instagram: EmmysFoundation
Vine: EmmysFoundation

College Television Awards Photos