

PRESS RELEASE

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

43RD COLLEGE TELEVISION AWARDS WINNERS ANNOUNCED BY TELEVISION ACADEMY FOUNDATION

Lisa Ann Walter, Chris Perfetti, Midori Francis and Raymond Lee Among Television Stars Who Presented Top Honors to Students From Colleges Nationwide



Chris Perfetti, far left, and Lisa Ann Walter, far right, with Chapman University students Kaan Berkant, Jennifer Baker and Yinghui Li, winners of the comedy series award for "Slobopoly," at the 43rd College Television Awards, presented by the Television Academy Foundation on April 13, 2024, in North Hollywood, California. (Photo by Danny Moloshok/Invision for the Television Academy/AP Images)

(**LOS ANGELES** – April 15, 2024) — The Television Academy Foundation announced the winners of the 43rd College Television Awards, which recognize and reward excellence in student-produced programs from colleges nationwide, at a star-studded awards gala at the Saban Media Center in North Hollywood, California, on April 13.

The 2024 winners were presented awards by top television stars, including Lisa Ann Walter (Abbott Elementary), Chris Perfetti (Abbott Elementary), Midori Francis (Grey's Anatomy), Zyra Gorecki (La Brea), Courtney Eaton (Yellowjackets), Liv Hewson (Yellowjackets), Nischelle Turner (Entertainment Tonight), Stephanie Arcila (Fire Country), Raymond Lee (Quantum Leap), Judy Reyes (Dr. Death), Nia Sioux (Dance Moms) and Plasma (RuPaul's Drag Race).

"Congratulations to all the winners in television's most esteemed and coveted student awards," said Tina Perry, chair of the Television Academy Foundation. "The Foundation is proud to leverage its platform to showcase the exceptional work of the industry's future leaders. Our sincerest gratitude to all the celebrities and sponsors who participated in this event to make it a memorable experience for students."

Emulating the Emmy® Awards selection process, entries for the College Television Awards were judged by Television Academy members. Top honors and a \$3,000 cash prize went to winning teams in seven categories:

ANIMATION SERIES:

The Witch's Cat – Brigham Young University Jessica Fink Blaine, Producer Abby Staker Graham, Director/Writer

COMEDY SERIES:

Slobopoly – Chapman University Jennifer Baker, Producer/Writer Yinghui Li, Director Kaan Berkant, Producer

COMMERCIAL, PSA OR PROMO:

Alzheimer's Association - No One Is Alone – Brigham Young University Remington Butler, Director/Writer Alex McBride, Producer

DRAMA SERIES:

Backlog – University of Southern California
Jacqueline Elyse Rosenthal, Director/Producer/Writer
Zhongyu Wang, Producer
Marian Cook, Producer
Josh Powell, Producer

NEWS:

NewsVision – University of Miami Embrik Eyles, Producer Harvey Duplock, Producer Anna Coon, Director Katelyn Kucharski, Producer Derryl Barnes, Writer Sophia Vitello, Writer Cal Friedman, Writer Wyatt Kopelman, Writer Quinn Davidson, Producer

NONFICTION SERIES:

Wings of Dust – New York University Giorgio Ghiotto, Director/Producer/Writer

SPORTS:

SportsDesk: The Magazine Edition - University of Miami

Daniel Toll, Producer/Writer
Morgan Champey, Director/Producer
Derryl Barnes, Producer
Anna Coon, Producer
Kayla Davis, Producer
Leslie Dominique, Producer
Lauren Lennon, Producer
Jaclyn Marra, Producer

Two special awards were also announced during the program:

- The Loreen Arbus Focus on Disability Scholarship was presented to Savannah College of Art and Design students Halle Losordo (director/writer) and Abigail Dickinson (producer) for their production *Just Jacob*. The \$10,000 scholarship celebrates student storytellers whose work sheds light on people with disabilities and is underwritten by The Loreen Arbus Foundation.
- The Seymour Bricker Humanitarian Award, a \$4,000 cash prize given to a
 College Television Award-winning project that best highlights a humanitarian
 concern, was awarded to New York University's Giorgio Ghiotto for Wings of
 Dust. This award was created over 20 years ago by the late entertainment
 attorney Seymour Bricker.

The 43rd College Television Awards show is available for video-on-demand viewing at **TelevisionAcademy.com/CTA**.

The 43rd College Television Awards is supported by philanthropists and corporate partners, including the Johnny Carson Foundation, PEOPLE, United Airlines and The Loreen Arbus Foundation.

About the Television Academy Foundation

Established in 1959 as the charitable arm of the Television Academy, the Television Academy Foundation is dedicated to preserving the legacy of television while educating and inspiring those who will shape its future. Through renowned educational and outreach programs, such as **The Interviews**: An Oral History of Television Project, **College Television Awards** and **Summit**, **Student Internship Program**, and the **Media Educators Conference**, the Foundation seeks to widen the circle of voices our industry represents and to create more opportunity for television to reflect all of society. For more information on the Foundation, please visit **TelevisionAcademy.com/Foundation**.

###

Media Contact:

Jane Sparango **breakwhitelight** (for the Television Academy Foundation)
<u>jane@breakwhitelight.com</u>
310-339-1214