Social Icons
Press Releases
July 08, 2015

Spike Jones, Jr. to Receive Founders Award

Syd Cassyd Founders Award To Be Presented at the 2015 Creative Arts Emmy Awards on September 12

  • Spike Jones, Jr.

    Spike Jones, Jr.

  • Andy Sale of Ernst and Young and Spike Jones, Jr. enjoy cocktail hour at the 36th College Television Awards at the Skirball Cultural Center in Los Angeles, April 23, 2015.

    Andy Sale of Ernst and Young and Spike Jones, Jr. enjoy cocktail hour at the 36th College Television Awards at the Skirball Cultural Center in Los Angeles, April 23, 2015.


The Television Academy has announced that renowned producer Spike Jones, Jr. has been selected as the 2015 recipient of the esteemed Syd Cassyd Founders Award.
Named in honor of the Television Academy's founder, the Syd Cassyd Award recognizes Academy members who have made a significant, positive impact on the organization over many years of involvement and service. The award will be presented during the 2015 Creative Arts Emmys at the Microsoft Theater on Saturday, September 12. FXX will broadcast a two-hour version of the awards show on Saturday, September 19 at 8pm ET/PT, encoring at 10pm ET/PT.

"Spike has been an important part of the DNA of the Academy for a very long time," said Television Academy Chairman and CEO Bruce Rosenblum. "He has strongly influenced the artistic direction of the Creative Arts Emmy Awards, and shaped it into a wonderful celebration of the many artists, technicians and talents who are the heart and soul of our industry. Spike has also performed countless hours of pro-bono work, and given tremendous support to Academy and Foundation initiatives. He cares passionately about our mission to push the boundaries of television, and for this he is a most deserving recipient of the Syd Cassyd Award."

Through his company SJ2 Entertainment, Spike Jones, Jr. has become a sought-after and respected producer of awards shows and live TV variety shows. He has produced the Creative Arts Emmy Awards for the past 20 years, taking it from a hotel ballroom event to a telecast production that now airs on FXX. For the fifth year in a row, he is producing the Emmy Awards Nominations Announcement ceremony (streaming live on at 8:30am PT this July 16). In addition, Jones, Jr. has generously dedicated his time and energy to the Academy's educational and charitable arm, the Television Academy Foundation, by inspiring and teaching the next generation of television leaders through lectures, mentorships and seminars. Most recently, he executive-produced the Foundation's College Television Awards, marking the fifth time he has volunteered his creativity and expertise.

Last year, Jones, Jr. produced and directed a unique Academy member event: SCORE: A Concert of Music Composed for Television. This one-of-a-kind concert at Royce Hall featured an 80-piece orchestra performing a vast range of iconic television theme music from Game of Thrones to Family Guy, conducted by the composers of each popular theme.

Jones, Jr. also produced the 41st Annual Daytime Emmy Awards, and has amassed an extensive list of credits producing and directing projects for HBO, Oxygen, Showtime, A&E Networks, MTV, VH1, NBC, E!, Nickelodeon and ABC. These include the Film Independent Spirit Awards, Writers Guild Awards, Jerry Lewis Telethon, Spike TV's Video Game Awards, and more. He recently entered into the arena of online gaming by directing Blizzard Entertainment's premiere release of World of Warcraft: Cinematic Reveal.
Past recipients of the Syd Cassyd Founders Award, which is voted on by the Academy's Board of Governors, include Syd Cassyd himself, the first to receive the accolade when it was established in 1991. Subsequent recipients were Robert Lewine (1992), Hank Rieger (1994), Larry Stewart (1995), Thomas Sarnoff (1997), Howard Smit (2000), Leo Chaloukian (2004), Richard Frank (2007), Dixon Dern (2009), John Leverence (2010) and Dick Askin (2012).

About the Television Academy
The Television Academy seeks to expand the horizons of television excellence. It strives to empower storytellers who shape the evolving television space through the programs, publications and events of the Academy and its Foundation. And it celebrates those who have led excellence by recording their stories and recognizing their achievements through accolades and awards, including television's most coveted prize, the Primetime Emmy Award. For more information, please visit

# # #

PMK*BNC for the Television Academy:
Chris DiIorio        310-854-4866
Joanna Cichocki    310-854-4773

Add Your Comment

Must See

Nominees Announced

Congratulations to the nominees representing 18 colleges and universities

Hall of Fame Honorees Announced

Iger, Laybourne, MacFarlane, Sandrich, and Tyson to be inducted at 25th Hall of Fame celebration

Changes on The Crown

Meet the season 3 and 4 cast of The Crown, gracing the cover of the new emmy magazine!

Browser Requirements
The sites look and perform best when using a modern browser.

We suggest you use the latest version of any of these browsers:

Visiting the site with Internet Explorer or other browsers may not provide the best viewing experience.

Close Window