December 10, 2013
Press Releases

Six New Hall of Fame Inductees Announced

Ray Dolby, Julia Louis-Dreyfus, David E. Kelley, Jay Leno, Rupert Murdoch and Brandon Stoddard Named Television Academy’s 23rd Hall of Fame Inductees


NoHo Arts District, CA – The Television Academy’s Hall of Fame Selection Committee has announced the groundbreaking television legends who will be inducted into the 23rd Hall of Fame.

The 2014 inductees, announced today by Television Academy Chairman and CEO Bruce Rosenblum, are highly accomplished individuals from all aspects of the television industry whose careers have made a significant impact on the medium.   

The 23rd Hall of Fame class includes:

  • Four-time Emmy Award-winning actress Julia Louis-Dreyfus
  • Prolific writer-producer David E. Kelley
  • Late night legend Jay Leno
  • FOX Broadcasting Company founder Rupert Murdoch
  • Iconic ABC Network executive Brandon Stoddard  
  • Additionally, sound pioneer and innovator Ray Dolby will be inducted posthumously  

The induction ceremony will take place at the Beverly Wilshire (A Four Seasons Hotel) on March 11, 2014.  

The Hall of Fame gala will once again be produced in partnership with the Television Academy Foundation, which celebrates past, present and future industry leaders through its educational outreach and archival programs.

“The six individuals being inducted into the Hall of Fame have all made a profound impact on the landscape of television, leaving their own mark within our industry and with audiences around the world,” said Rosenblum.  

“Their groundbreaking contributions will last for generations, making them true icons who could not be more deserving of the Television Academy’s highest honor.” 

The 2014 honorees join more than 130 individuals previously inducted into the Hall of Fame since its inception in 1984.

Recognized for their extraordinary contributions to the medium, candidates are submitted by the Television Academy's membership and the industry at large to the Hall of Fame Selection Committee, chaired by Warner Bros. Television Group President and Chief Content Officer Peter Roth. 

In addition to Roth, this year’s committee included Emmy® Award-winning producer Marcy Carsey; Bonnie Hammer, Chairman of NBCUniversal Cable Entertainment Group; Rick Rosen, Board Member and Head of Television at WME; Fred Silverman, founder of The Fred Silverman Company and former executive at ABC, CBS and NBC; and Nina Tassler, President of CBS Entertainment.

About the Television Academy Hall of Fame

Founded by former Television Academy president John H. Mitchell, the Television Academy's Hall of Fame has honored on-camera legends and pioneering directors, producers, costume designers, writers, animators, executives, reporters and documentarians/explorers. Past honorees include Lucille Ball, Johnny Carson, Walter Cronkite, Walt Disney, Bob Hope, Mary Tyler Moore, Barbara Walters, Dan Rather, Oprah Winfrey, Jacques-Yves Cousteau, Lorne Michaels, Ron Howard, Carl Reiner, Leslie Moonves, Katie Couric, Bob Mackie, Mario Kreutzberger, Bob Barker, Bea Arthur, Regis Philbin, William Shatner, Bob Stewart and Candice Bergen. 

Get more information about the Television Academy, our many industry-related programs and services, including year-round events, right here at

Ticket information will be forthcoming.

Press Contact

Chris DiIorio – PMK BNC
Browser Requirements
The sites look and perform best when using a modern browser.

We suggest you use the latest version of any of these browsers:


Visiting the site with Internet Explorer or other browsers may not provide the best viewing experience.

Close Window