Marion Dougherty
From HBO Documentary "Casting By"
July 30, 2014
Press Releases

Governors Award and Juried Award Recipients Announced

Awards to be presented at 2014 Creative Arts Emmy Awards on Saturday, August 16 at the Nokia Theatre L.A. LIVE

The Television Academy announced today that iconic casting director Marion Dougherty will be posthumously awarded the 2014 Governors Award. Additionally, the Academy announced the juried award winners for Outstanding Costumes for a Variety Program or Special and Outstanding Individual Achievement in Animation.

The Governors Award along with the juried awards will be presented during the Creative Arts Emmy Awards on Saturday, August 16. This year's telecast partner is FXM and the awards will be produced by Spike Jones, Jr. An edited version of the awards will be broadcast on Sunday, August 24 at 8pm ET/PT and 10pm ET/PT. They will additionally be streamed in their entirety as part of the Backstage LIVE show on at 12:00pm PT / 3:00pm ET on Monday, August 25 prior to the Backstage LIVE and Emmy preshow.

Marion Dougherty was a pioneer in the casting industry whose career was built in television. She is being recognized with the Governors Award for defining the role of the Casting Director, changing the profession for both television and film. Dougherty created a name for herself by breaking the mold of traditional casting. Instead of following the common practice of bringing in a large number of the same type of actors to read for a role, she would select three or four very different actors to provide the director with casting options and performers who could bring unique shadings to the roles. It was with this approach that Dougherty cast Dustin Hoffman, Jon Voight, Martin Sheen, William Shatner, Christopher Walken, Robert Duval, Glenn Close and James Caan in some of their earliest roles.
She began her career in 1949 casting over 500 episodes of NBC's Kraft Television Theatre. Her work for this program showcased many young and unknown performers who would go on to become some of Hollywood's biggest stars, including Warren Beatty, James Dean, Jack Lemmon, Jack Klugman and more. Following her work on Kraft, Dougherty cast such popular shows as Naked City and Route 66. Dougherty established her own independent casting office and became renowned for her work in feature film. In 1971, she famously cast Carroll O'Connor and Jean Stapleton in the pilot of the long-running Emmy Award-winning series All in the Family.
Dougherty was the subject of the acclaimed and Emmy-nominated documentary "Casting By" which debuted on HBO in 2013.

Additionally, the Academy has selected the juried winners for the 66th Emmy Awards in the categories of Outstanding Costumes for a Variety Program or Special and Outstanding Individual Achievement in Animation.

Outstanding Costumes For A Variety Program Or A Special

Saturday Night Live • Host: Jimmy Fallon • NBC • SNL Studios in association with Universal Television and Broadway Video
Tom Broecker, Costume Designer
Eric Justian, Costume Designer

So You Think You Can Dance • Episode 1008 • FOX • Dick Clark Productions, Inc. and 19 Entertainment
Marina Toybina, Costume Designer
Grainne O'Sullivan, Costume Supervisor

Outstanding Individual Achievement In Animation

Adventure Time • Wizards Only, Fools • Cartoon Network • Cartoon Network Studios
Nick Jennings, Art Director

Disney Gravity Falls • Dreamscaperers • Disney Channel • Disney Television Animation
Ian Worrel, Art Director

Disney Mickey Mouse • 'O Sole Minnie • Disney Channel • Disney Television Animation
Narina Sokolova, Background Painter

Disney Mickey Mouse • The Adorable Couple • Disney Channel • Disney Television Animation
Valerio Ventura, Background Designer

Long Live The Royals • • Cartoon Network Studios
Sean Szeles, Storyboard Artist

The Powerpuff Girls: Dance Pantsed • Cartoon Network • Cartoon Network Studios
Jasmin Lai, Background Painter

Robot Chicken DC Comics Special II: Villains In Paradise • Adult Swim • A Stoopid Buddy Stoodios Production in association with
Stoopid Monkey and Williams Street
Cameron Baity, Animator

The Simpsons • Treehouse of Horror XXIV • FOX • Gracie Films in association with 20th Century Fox Television
Dmitry Malanitchev, Color Design Director

The Simpsons • Treehouse of Horror XXIV • FOX • Gracie Films in association with 20th Century Fox Television
Charles Ragins, Background Designer

Uncle Grandpa • Afraid of the Dark • Cartoon Network • Cartoon Network Studios
Nick Edwards, Character Designer

Juried categories require all entrants to be screened by a panel of professionals in the peer group, with the possibility of one, more than one, or no entry being awarded an Emmy. As a consequence, there are no nominees, but instead a one-step evaluation and voting procedure. Deliberations include an open discussion of the work of each entrant, with a thorough review of the merits of awarding the Emmy. At the conclusion of each deliberation, the jury votes on the question, "Is this entry worthy of an Emmy award – yea or nay?" Only those with unanimous approval win.

About The Television Academy
The Television Academy seeks to expand the horizons of television excellence. It strives to empower the storytellers who shape the evolving television space through the programs, publications and events of the Academy and its Foundation. And it celebrates those who have led excellence by recording their stories and recognizing their achievements through accolades and awards, including television's most coveted prize, the Primetime Emmy Award. For more information, please visit

Chris DiIorio / PMK*BNC

Browser Requirements
The sites look and perform best when using a modern browser.

We suggest you use the latest version of any of these browsers:


Visiting the site with Internet Explorer or other browsers may not provide the best viewing experience.

Close Window