June 12, 2014
Press Releases

Dick Askin Elected Chairman of Past Presidents and Past Chairs

Served as Academy Chairman and CEO from 2003-2007

NoHo Arts District, CA — (June 13, 2014) – Dick Askin has been elected Chairman of the Council of Past Presidents and Past Chairs for the Television Academy.

In this position, Askin will lead the Council, formed to provide advice and counsel to Academy's elected leadership, while working closely with the board of governors on specific initiatives and projects. Askin succeeds Leo Chaloukian who served as Chairman of this committee since 2003.

Askin, formerly President and CEO of Hollywood-based Tribune Entertainment Company, was elected to serve successive two-year terms as Chairman and CEO of the Television Academy from 2003 - 2005 and 2005 – 2007. During his leadership as Television Academy Chairman, the Television Academy expanded Emmy eligibility to include broadband content, brought the International Academy of Television Arts & Sciences under its jurisdiction, established the Academy Foundation's Mister Rogers Memorial Scholarship to further Rogers' legacy in children's media, focused Academy attention on runaway production, expanded  membership benefits, and saw the organization's membership increase by 20%.

Askin has served on the Television Academy Foundation's board of directors for more than a decade, and in September of 2012, he received the Academy's prestigious Syd Cassyd Founder's Award which honors members who have made a significant, positive impact on the Academy through their efforts and service over many years.  He is currently the principal in Askin & Company, Inc., an entertainment advisory firm specializing in television programming, marketing and distribution rights management.

Askin's term is effective immediately.

About The Television Academy
The Television Academy seeks to expand the horizons of television excellence. It strives to empower the storytellers who shape the evolving television space through the programs, publications and events of the Academy and its Foundation. And it celebrates those who have led excellence by recording their stories and recognizing their achievements through accolades and awards, including television's most coveted prize, the Primetime Emmy Award. For more information, please visit TelevisionAcademy.com

Chris DiIorio / PMK*BNC

Browser Requirements
The TelevisionAcademy.com sites look and perform best when using a modern browser.

We suggest you use the latest version of any of these browsers:


Visiting the site with Internet Explorer or other browsers may not provide the best viewing experience.

Close Window