August 26, 2016
Press Releases

Animation Juried Winners Announced

Television Academy Announces Juried Winners for 68th Emmy Awards in Animation Category

The Television Academy announced today the juried award winners for the 68th Emmy Awards in the Animation category. The juried awards for Animation will be presented on Sunday, September 11.

This year's juried winners include:

Outstanding Individual Achievement in Animation

Adventure Time • Bad Jubies • Cartoon Network • Cartoon Network Studios in association with Bix Pix Entertainment
Jason Kolowski, Production Designer
Adventure Time • Stakes Pt. 8: The Dark Cloud • Cartoon Network • Cartoon Network Studios
Tom Herpich, Storyboard Artist
He Named Me Malala • National Geographic Channel • Fox Searchlight Pictures in association with Image Nation Abu Dhabi and Participant Media
Jason Carpenter, Animation Production Designer
Long Live The Royals • Punk Show • Cartoon Network • Cartoon Network Studios
Chris Tsirgiotis, Background Designer
Robot Chicken DC Comics Special III: Magical Friendship • Adult Swim • Stoopid Buddy Stoodios
Scott DaRos, Character Animator

Juried categories require all entrants to be screened by a panel of professionals in the appropriate peer group, with the possibility of one, more than one, or no entry being awarded an Emmy. As a consequence, there are no nominees, but instead a one-step evaluation and voting procedure. Deliberations include open discussions of each entrant's work, with a thorough review of the merits of awarding the Emmy. At the conclusion of each deliberation, the jury considers the question, "Is this entry worthy of an Emmy award – yea or nay?" Only those with unanimous approval win.

The 2016 Creative Arts Emmys Awards, executive-produced by Bob Bain, will be held over two nights at the Microsoft Theater from 5:00 PM – 7:30 PM on Saturday, September 10 and Sunday, September 11. FXX will broadcast the awards on Saturday, September 17 from 8:00 PM – 10:30 PM (ET/PT) with an encore from 10:30 PM – 1:00AM (ET/PT).

#   #   #

Jim Yeager
Breakwhitelight (for The Television Academy)

Browser Requirements
The sites look and perform best when using a modern browser.

We suggest you use the latest version of any of these browsers:


Visiting the site with Internet Explorer or other browsers may not provide the best viewing experience.

Close Window