June 15, 2011

Melissa McCarthy, Joshua Jackson to Reveal Emmy Nominees

Melissa McCarthy (Mike & Molly) and Joshua Jackson (Fringe) are your hosts for the eagerly-anticipated 63rd Primetime Emmys nominations announcement ceremony, live Thursday, July 14 at 5:35 a.m. on Emmys.com.

Melissa McCarthy (Mike & Molly) and Joshua Jackson (Fringe) will join Academy of Television Arts & Sciences Chairman-CEO, John Shaffner at 5:40 a.m. on Thursday, July 14, to announce the 63rd Primetime Emmy® Awards Nominations.

At the helm of this year's telecast is producer Douglass M. Stewart, Jr., returning for his 20th Primetime Emmy® Awards Nominations announcement. The ceremony will take place at the Television Academy’s Leonard H. Goldenson Theatre in North Hollywood.

Melissa McCarthy currently stars as Molly on Mike & Molly, the number one new comedy series airing on CBS. She also stars opposite Kristen Wiig in the hit comedy movie Bridesmaids as Megan.

McCarthy’s previous feature film work also includes The Back-Up Plan and Life As We Know It. On television, she previously starred as the clumsy culinary genius Sookie St. James in Gilmore Girls, and Dena in the series Samantha Who?

McCarthy first made her mark on the comedy stage, performing stand up in New York at The Improv and Stand Up New York. At the same time, she received dramatic training from The Actors Studio in New York and starred in a variety of stage productions throughout the city. In Los Angeles, McCarthy spent nine years as a main-stage member of the world-renowned improv and sketch troupe, The Groundlings.

Joshua Jackson is currently starring in Fox’s hit show Fringe, created by J.J. Abrams. During his past summer hiatus, Jackson filmed a starring role opposite Bruce Willis and Catherine Zeta Jones in Lay the Favorite. He recently starred in the independent Canadian feature film, One Week, for which he received the 2010 Genie Award for Best Actor.

Jackson was part of the ensemble cast of the critically acclaimed film Bobby, directed by Emilio Estevez, and starred in the psychological thriller Shutter for 20th Century Fox/New Regency. Additionally, Jackson enjoyed a successful run on London’s West End starring in A Life in the Theatre alongside Patrick Stewart. Well known as Dawson’s Creek’s fast-talking, self-deprecating Pacey Witter, Jackson has been working in front of the camera for over fifteen years.

John Shaffner is serving his second term as Chairman-CEO of the Academy of Television Arts & Sciences. Shaffner, along with partner Joe Stewart, are among the most recognized production designers in television. He has received three Primetime Emmy Awards for his work on a series of David Copperfield specials, one for The George Lopez Show and two Daytime Emmys for The Ellen DeGeneres Show. They have been nominated a total of 29 times for Primetime and Daytime Emmys. Shaffner-Stewart also designed sets for the series Two and Half Men, Friends, The Drew Carey Show and Dharma and Greg, among others.

The 63rd Primetime Emmy Awards will air live coast to coast on Sunday, September 18th (8 PM, ET/ 5 PM, PT) on Fox and will originate from the NOKIA Theatre L.A. LIVE in Los Angeles. The awards will be produced by Mark Burnett and hosted by Jane Lynch. Nominating ballots were posted on the Television Academy's website (www.emmys.tv) on June 6; ballots are to be returned to Ernst & Young by June 24.

Browser Requirements
The TelevisionAcademy.com sites look and perform best when using a modern browser.

We suggest you use the latest version of any of these browsers:


Visiting the site with Internet Explorer or other browsers may not provide the best viewing experience.

Close Window