Social Icons
Latest News
August 11, 2010

Showrunners, Stars from 'Dexter,' 'Mad Men,' 'Glee and More to Present at Creative Arts Emmys

Glee's Jane Lynch and Ryan Murphy, Dexter's John Lithgow and Clyde Phillips, Mad Men's Christina Hendricks and Matthew Weiner, Lost's Elizabeth Mitchell and Damon Lindelof, Modern Family's Rico Rodriguez and Steve Levitan, SNL's Seth Meyers and Andy Samberg and more will be on hand to salute television's finest craftspeople.

The Academy of Television Arts & Sciences announced presenters for the 2010 Primetime Creative Arts Emmy® Awards. This year, presenters will be showrunners paired with talent from nominated programs. This will not only add a star quality to the list of presenters, but will allow for the cast and producers of many of the nominated programs to celebrate and honor their colleagues.

Presenters include Jane Lynch and Ryan Murphy (Glee), John Lithgow and Clyde Phillips (Dexter), Christina Hendricks and Matthew Weiner (Mad Men), Elizabeth Mitchell and Damon Lindelof (Lost), Rico Rodriguez and Steve Levitan (Modern Family), Seth Meyers and Andy Samberg (Saturday Night Live) and more. The aforementioned shows have a combined 67 Emmy nominations this year.

The Primetime Creative Arts Emmys will be held on Saturday, August 21, and will air as a two-hour special on E! Entertainment Television on Friday, August 27 (Check local listings).

Spike Jones, Jr., will be back as producer of the Primetime Creative Arts Emmy Awards. This marks the 16th year that Jones, Jr., has produced the show. Additionally, Tony DeSena and Carole Propp will serve as writer/co-producer and coordinating producer, respectively.

Through his company SJ2 Entertainment, Spike Jones, Jr., has established himself as a leading player in the areas of awards shows and live TV variety shows. He has taken the Creative Arts ceremony from a dinner dance to a major annual event. He recently entered into the arena of reality TV by co-creating and executive producing Camping with the In-Laws, a reality show pilot for Lifetime Network. Jones, Jr., has a long list of credits with the major networks and has also produced and directed projects for HBO, Oxygen, Showtime, A&E Networks, MTV, VH1, The History Channel, Spike TV, Nickelodeon and Nick at Nite.

During the Primetime Creative Arts Emmys, Dr. John Leverence, senior vice president of awards for the Television Academy, will be awarded with the Syd Cassyd Founders Award. This marks only the tenth time in the Academy’s history that this award has been given out. This award is voted on by the Academy’s Board of Governors and is bestowed upon a Television Academy member who has made a significant, positive impact on the Television Academy through their efforts and service over many years of involvement.

For three decades Leverence has led the Television Academy’s awards department, overseeing the awards program from the mid-’70s, following the Television Academy’s separation from the New York-based National Academy, through its maturation into television’s most prestigious awards event of the year.

During his tenure with the Television Academy, Leverence has overseen a monumental expansion of the scope of the awards categories into areas such as animation, special visual effects, casting, interactive television, areas of makeup, reality, stunt coordination and the most rapidly expanding area of the Emmy competition, reality programming.

Leverence has served as executive producer of the Creative Arts Awards for both the Primetime Emmys and the Daytime Emmys, and of the Los Angeles Area Awards presentation. He continues to produce the Engineering Awards. His 1997 book, And the Winner Is, remains a standard reference work on the theory and practice of awards.

Add Your Comment

Must See

Emmy Nominations Announced

See who got nominated for Emmys this year.
Watch the replay and get all the details.

In My Opinion: Logan Browning

Our continuing series of opinion pieces from industry leaders and professionals, sharing ideas, fostering dialogue, and inspiring change.

Represent: The African-American Experience in Post-Production

A lively panel discussion of African-Americans in the world of post-production.

Browser Requirements
The sites look and perform best when using a modern browser.

We suggest you use the latest version of any of these browsers:

Visiting the site with Internet Explorer or other browsers may not provide the best viewing experience.

Close Window