Social Icons
Latest News
September 07, 2011

Juried Winners for Animation Achievement and Costuming for 63rd Primetime Emmys Announced

Winners include Community, Portlandia and more.

The Academy of Television Arts & Sciences announced today the juried winners for the 63rd Primetime Emmy® Awards in the category of Individual Achievement in Animation and Costumes for a Variety/Music Program or a Special. These awards will be handed out during the Creative Arts Emmy Awards on Saturday, September 10. The 2011 juried winners include:

Individual Achievement in Animation

Community: Abed’s Uncontrollable Christmas • NBC • A Harmonious Claptrap production in association with 23D Films, Inc.

Drew Hodges, Character Animator

Disney Phineas And Ferb • Wizard Of Odd • Disney Channel • Disney Television Animation

Jill Daniels, Background Painter

Disney Phineas And Ferb • Wizard Of Odd • Disney Channel • Disney Television Animation

Brian Woods, Background Design

Firebreather • Cartoon Network • Cartoon Network Studios

Peter Chung, Character Design

Firebreather • Cartoon Network • Cartoon Network Studios

Sung Chang, Character Animator

Lilac Wine • • Blind, Inc.

Vanessa Marzaroli, Production Design

Young Justice • Independence Day • Cartoon Network • Warner Bros. Animation

Philip Bourassa, Character Design

Costumes for a Variety/Music Program or a Special

Gettysburg • HISTORY • Produced by Scott Free Productions in association with Herzog & Company for HISTORY

Kate Carin, Costume Designer

Abigail Metcalf, Costume Supervisor

Portlandia • Farm • IFC • Broadway Video

Amanda Needham, Costume Designer

Niki Dimitras, Costume Supervisor

The Primetime Emmy rules state that in a juried award, all entrants are screened by a jury of professionals in the peer group, with the possibility of one, more than one or no entry is awarded an Emmy. There are no nominations. The winner(s), if any, are announced prior to the awards presentation. Deliberations are an open discussion of the work of each entrant, with a thorough review of the merits of awarding the Emmy. At the conclusion of the deliberation on each entry, the jury votes on the question, “Is this entry worthy of an Emmy award – yea or nay?” Only those in unanimous approval win.

For a complete list of nominations and more information, please visit

Add Your Comment

Must See

Hall of Fame Honorees Announced

Iger, Laybourne, MacFarlane, Sandrich, and Tyson to be inducted at 25th Hall of Fame celebration

Changes on The Crown

Meet the season 3 and 4 cast of The Crown, gracing the cover of the new emmy magazine!

New Star Trek Internship!

CBS and the Television Academy have announced a new internship program for college students nationwide to reflect the inclusive and diverse values of the Star Trek franchise.

Browser Requirements
The sites look and perform best when using a modern browser.

We suggest you use the latest version of any of these browsers:

Visiting the site with Internet Explorer or other browsers may not provide the best viewing experience.

Close Window