Sally Field

Sally Field

Courtesy of Netflix
February 21, 2023
Member News

Three-Time Emmy Winner Sally Field to Receive SAG Life Achievement Award

Andrew Garfield will present the award to Field, the 58th recipient of the guild's career recognition honor.

Three-time Emmy Award-winning actress Sally Field will receive the SAG Life Achievement Award this Sunday at the 29th Annual Screen Actors Guild Awards ceremony. Field, whose numerous career accolades also include a SAG Award and two Oscars, is the 58th recipient of this honor, in recognition of her career achievements and humanitarian accomplishments.

Emmy- and Oscar-nominated actor Andrew Garfield, who appeared with Field in The Amazing Spider-Man and The Amazing Spider-Man 2, will present the award.

In her announcement of Field's selection, SAG-AFTRA president Fran Drescher said, "Sally is an amazing actor with an enormous range and an uncanny ability to embody any character. I joyfully watched her early career when she portrayed Gidget and the Flying Nun and then, in ever more challenging roles, as Sybil and Norma Rae. She never stopped being extraordinary, including as recently as Winning Time, in which she was simply sublime as Jessie Buss."

Given annually to an actor who fosters the "finest ideals of the acting profession," the SAG Life Achievement Award will be the latest of Field's honors resulting from her career, in which she has portrayed dozens of iconic roles in television, film and theater.

Field received Emmy Awards in 1977 for her title role in the landmark miniseries Sybil, and in 2001 for her performance as a bipolar mother on ER. In addition, for her role as Nora Walker on the ABC series Brothers & Sisters, which ran from 2006 to 2011, she received an Emmy in 2007 and a Screen Actors Guild Award in 2009.

In addition to her Emmy and SAG Awards, Field has won two Oscars for Best Actress — for the 1979 release Norma Rae and the 1984 release Places in the Heart — as well as two Golden Globe Awards, the New York Film Critics prize, the National Board of Review Award, the Los Angeles Film Critics Award, the National Society of Film Critics honor, Best Actress at the Cannes Film Festival and more.

In 2012, she was inducted into the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, and in 2015 she was honored by President Barak Obama with the National Medal of Arts. In 2019, she received the Kennedy Center Honor.

Watch the 29th Annual Screen Actors Guild Awards LIVE on Sunday, February 26, at 5 P.M. (PT) / 8 P.M. (ET) on Netflix's YouTube channel, from the Fairmont Century Plaza in Los Angeles.

Browser Requirements
The sites look and perform best when using a modern browser.

We suggest you use the latest version of any of these browsers:


Visiting the site with Internet Explorer or other browsers may not provide the best viewing experience.

Close Window