November 17, 2009

Los Angeles Area Emmy® Winners Unveiled

KCET, NBC4 Top Winners Saturday, August 25, 2007 Leonard H. Goldenson Theatre North Hollywood, California

NBC4 reporter Joel Grover accepts the Emmy Award for "Outstanding Hard News Reporting" at The 59th Annual Los Angeles Area Emmy Awards.
KCET and NBC4 tied for the most honors at the 59th Annual Los Angeles Area Emmy Awards with six statuettes each.A gala presentation of awards in more than forty categories, the ceremony was held at Leonard Goldenson Theater on the Academy of Television Arts & Sciences plaza. Gala highlights included the presentation of the Governors Award to “Mejorando Su Vida” (English translation: "Improve Your Life"), a multifaceted community-outreach initiative undertaken by KVEA-52, the West Coast flagship of the Telemundo network. The ceremony also featured moving memorial tributes to Los Angeles news icons Tom Snyder and Hal Fishman, both of whom passed away earlier this summer. The evening’s events, which were streamed via live webcast at the Television Academy’s official site,, featured more than fifty presenters, including dozens of familiar anchors and reporters from local stations. Other presenters included several Television Academy governors and—on a break from their current show at the Venetian Hotel in Las Vegas—the azure-tinted performance-art troupe Blue Man Group. The trio were also nominated for outstanding short promo for a KCAL9 promotional segment for the Los Angeles Dodgers.

Two Newscast Honors to CBS2

Two of the three highly competitive regularly scheduled newscast categories went to CBS2. CBS2 News at 11 was named outstanding regularly scheduled newscast in the 0-35- minute format; CBS2 News at 6 A.M. was honored as outstanding daytime newscast. Outstanding regularly scheduled newscast in the over-35-minute format was won by KTLA Prime News. Armando Acevedo, of KMEX, took the award for outstanding news director, and outstanding sports reporting was given to ABC7 for work done by reporter Curt Sandoval and producers Dae Ho Suk and Jeff MacIntyre. Outstanding news editor went to Beatrice Schreiber of CBS2 and outstanding non-news editor was Tim Paine of KVEA. Accepting the Governors Award for KVEA, anchor Lucia Navarro, who was introduced by Alan Perris, chief operating officer of the Television Academy, expressed heartfelt gratitude for the honor. In her remarks, Navarro told the audience that at KVEA, they “live and breathe” the phrase “Mejorando Su Vida," which is also the station’s mission statement.

Snyder, Fishman Tributes Among More Poignant, Personal Moments

Following the Governors Award, the lights dimmed for video tributes to Snyder and Fishman, both of whom had friends and former colleagues in the audience. Indeed, one of Fishman’s KTLA colleagues pointed out that today would have been Fishman’s seventy-six birthday. It was also a well-deserved salute to Fishman when KTLA Prime News won its award at the end of the ceremony. Other memorable moments of the evening included presenter Dale Davis of CBS2/KCAL9 thanking his colleague Phillip Palmer of ABC7 for donating a kidney to him earlier this year.

Good Things Come in "Twos" for NBC4's Grover

Plus, a performers from the winning public service announcement “Do You Know CPR?,” produced by Beverly Hills Network 10, told the audience that the honor was truly “near and dear to [her] heart” because she had overcome serious heart problems herself and lived to share her experience with others. On a lighter note, NBC4’s Mary Harris, who won the award for outstanding news writer, exulted with verve, pumping her fists before dashing from the stage “to call [her] parents.” And NBC4 reporter Joel Grover—a new father of twins—who won for outstanding investigative reporting and outstanding hard news reporting, quipped that this was the year things were happening to him in twos.

Complete Winners List Available

In second place behind KCET and NBC4 were CBS2/KCAL9 and KMEX, with four Emmys each; CBS2, FSN Prime Ticket, KTLA5 and KVEA were third, with three each; FOX11 and FSN West shared fourth place, with two statuettes apiece; and ABC7, Beverly Hills Network 10, GTV6 and KCAL9, KHIZ each took home one. For a complete list of winners, click here. *   *   *


Press Contacts

For the Academy of Television Arts & Sciences:

Robin Mesger
The Lippin Group
Lauren Kelcher
The Lippin Group
Browser Requirements
The sites look and perform best when using a modern browser.

We suggest you use the latest version of any of these browsers:


Visiting the site with Internet Explorer or other browsers may not provide the best viewing experience.

Close Window