January 14, 2019
Foundation News

39th College Television Awards Nominees Announced

Student Productions from Colleges Nationwide Vie for Top Honors in Television's Most Prestigious Student Competition

The Television Academy Foundation today announced nominees for the 39th College Television Awards which recognizes and rewards excellence in student-produced programs.

"Television's most prestigious student competition has been enhanced for 2019. Redefined categories reflect the serialized nature of television and an expanded professional development summit offers students the opportunity to visit and engage with top entertainment studios and network with industry professionals," said Madeline Di Nonno, chair of the Television Academy Foundation. "Our goal with the College Television Awards is to honor exceptional student work and leverage our platform to highlight the next generation of creators and executives within the industry. Congratulations to all the nominees!"

The 25 nominees were selected from over 600 productions submitted by 174 colleges and universities nationwide. Designed to emulate the Emmys, the student entries are judged online by active Television Academy members. Television stars will present top honors to students at the awards ceremony on Saturday, March 16, 2019, at the Television Academy's Saban Media Center in North Hollywood, California, where each winning project will receive a $3000 cash prize.

Three student-produced projects were nominated in each of eight categories: drama, comedy, animation, nonfiction, promotional, news, sports, and variety. One winner will be announced in each category. In addition, the College Television Awards announced the awardee for the Loreen Arbus Focus on Disability Scholarship, which recognizes a student-produced project that best portrays disability topics and issues, or helps emerging artists with a disability gain recognition.

Tickets for the 39th College Television Awards will be available for purchase beginning February 11, 2019, at TelevisionAcademy.com/RSVP-CTA. Tickets are $50 for adults and $25 for students with ID.

The nominees for the 39th College Television Awards, representing 17 colleges and universities, are listed below:

Animation Series

  • In a Heartbeat (Ringling College of Art & Design)
    Beth David, Producer
    Esteban Bravo, Director, Writer
  • The Rose Garden (Ringling College of Art & Design)
    Nina Gerstenhaber, Producer, Director, Writer
    Jessica Stanley, Producer, Director, Writer
  • The Wishing Cranes (Ringling College of Art & Design)
    Thomas Anderholm, Producer, Director, Writer
    Ellen Arnold, Producer, Director, Writer
    Kaiya Telle, Producer, Director, Writer

Comedy Series

  • Everything's Fine: A Panic Attack in D Major (Columbia University)
    Taylor Ortega, Producer
    Zack Morrison, Director, Writer
  • Pickle (Chapman University)
    Peter Henckel, Producer
    Grant Moore, Director, Writer
  • Tree #3 (American Film Institute)
    Iris Xuan Yang, Producer
    Sydney Meadow, Writer
    Omer Ben Shachar, Director, Writer

Drama Series

  • Baby I'm Yours (Chapman University)
    Marisa Messina, Producer
    Hadley Hillel, Director, Writer
    Noah Feinberg, Writer
  • Esta es tu Cuba (Chapman University)
    John Sayage, Producer
    Brian Robau, Director
    Daniel Klein, Writer
  • Neemkomok' (American Film Institute)
    Shanshan Sun, Producer
    Douglas Cushnie, Director, Writer

Nonfiction or Reality Series:

  • Fear Builds Walls (ArtCenter College of Design)
    Charlie McCarthy, Producer
    Rudy Gold, Director, Writer
  • Native Voices: The Struggle for Life and Land (American University)
    Kent Wagner, Producer, Director, Writer
  • Out of the Pills (Ithaca College)
    Eric Barr, Producer
    Casey McCracken, Producer, Director
    Rebecca van der Meulen, Producer
    Christian Schuepbach, Writer
    Megan Trapani, Writer


  • The 37th Annual EVVY Awards (Emerson College)
    Victoria Bartkavage, Producer
    Amelia Channin, Producer
    Gemma Guerrazzi, Producer
    Mateo Solis, Producer
    Tristan Flanagan, Director
    Samantha Yates, Writer
    Joe Zappulla, Writer
  • The Blackout's Quarter Update (Northwestern University)
    Peter Condie, Producer
    Noah Frick-Alofs, Producer
    Kathryn Karnaze, Producer
    Max Kliman, Producer
    Willa Barnett, Director
    Ryder Chasin, Director
    Grace Dowling, Director
    Charlie Heveran, Director
    Jake Daniels, Writer
    Alex Fecteau, Writer
  • SCADurday Night Live (Savannah College of Art and Design)
    Nick Golden, Producer
    Carson MacKenzie Smith, Producer
    Lexy Pazul, Director
    Ana Bernot-Reilly, Writer
    Katie Beyoglides, Writer
    Joe Casper, Writer
    Ellis Cox-McAllister, Writer
    Courtney Fortner, Writer
    Cynea Gamble, Writer
    Karlie Kyser, Writer
    Viktor Rodriguez, Writer
    Loic Suberville, Writer
    Cannon Wise, Writer
    Nilufer Yuce, Writer

Commercial, PSA or Promo:

  • GE – One More Giant Leap (Brigham Young University)
    Scott James, Producer
    Jason Murray, Producer
    Jedediah Thunell, Director
    Anthon Chase Johnson, Writer
  • Pests Do Not Mess with the Orkin Man (Brigham Young University)
    Chris Petersen, Producer, Director, Writer
    Seth Mollerup, Director, Writer
    Bentley Rawle, Director
  • Weird (Savannah College of Art and Design)
    Maegan Mann, Producer
    Demi Waldron, Producer
    Olivia O'Hara, Director
    Mason Douglass, Writer


  • Cronkite News (Arizona State University)
    Hayley Brand, Producer
    Azucena Martinez, Producer
    Ben Jacobs, Director
    Terra Pinckley, Director
    Kevyn Gessner, Writer
  • Montclair News Lab: Hurricane Recover Mission to Puerto Rico (Montclair State University)
    Natalie De La Rosa, Producer, Director, Writer
    Mariano Arocho, Producer, Director, Writer
    Laura Galarza, Producer, Director, Writer
    Babee Garcia, Producer, Director, Writer
    Madison Glassman, Producer, Director, Writer
    Genesis Obando, Producer, Director, Writer
    Madjiguene Traore, Producer, Director, Writer
  • UM-TV Newsvision: Tragedy in Parkland (University of Miami)
    Kelly Saberi, Producer
    Rebekah Chung, Producer, Writer
    Amanda Herrera, Producer, Writer
    Aaron Agrasanchez, Director


  • Molloy Volleyball: A Cinderella Story (Molloy College)
    Matthew Considine, Producer, Director, Writer
  • Sooner Sports Pad: Fall '17 Debut Show (University of Oklahoma)  
    Matthew Welsh, Producer
    Torii Bicondova, Director
  • Sports Desk (University of Miami)
    Luis Gonzalez, Producer
    Valerie Ferrante, Producer
    Amanda Fuentes, Producer
    Amanda Herrera, Director
    Isaiah Kim-Martinez, Writer
    Jihad Shatara, Writer

Loreen Arbus Focus on Disability Scholarship:

  • Woman of Steel (Florida State University)
    Chris Violette, Producer, Director, Writer

About the Television Academy Foundation
Established in 1959 as the charitable arm of the Television Academy, the Television Academy Foundation is dedicated to preserving the legacy of television while educating and inspiring those who will shape its future. Through renowned educational and outreach programs, such as The Interviews: An Oral History of Television Project, College Television Awards and Student Internship Program, the Foundation seeks to widen the circle of voices our industry represents and to create more opportunity for television to reflect all of society. For more information on the Foundation, please visit TelevisionAcademy.com/Foundation.

For the complete press release, click here.


Browser Requirements
The TelevisionAcademy.com sites look and perform best when using a modern browser.

We suggest you use the latest version of any of these browsers:


Visiting the site with Internet Explorer or other browsers may not provide the best viewing experience.

Close Window