Cris Abrego and Albert Lawrence

Cris Abrego, left, Chair of the Television Academy Foundation, welcomes viewers to the 41st College Television Awards and Albert Lawrence, right, correspondent for The Henry Ford's Innovation Nation and Foundation alumnus, hosted the event.

March 26, 2022
Foundation News

41st College Television Awards Winners Announced by Television Academy Foundation

Sam Heughan, Dove Cameron, Jordan L. Jones and Rose McIver Among Television Stars Who Presented Top Honors to Students From Colleges Nationwide in Global Livestream

The Television Academy Foundation announced the winners of the 41st College Television Awards tonight, which recognizes and rewards excellence in student-produced programs from colleges nationwide, during a global livestream.

The 2022 winners were presented awards remotely by television stars including Dove Cameron (Schmigadoon!), Rick Glassman (As We See It), Harvey Guillén (What We Do in the Shadows), Sam Heughan (Outlander), Jordan L. Jones (Bel-Air), Rose McIver (Ghosts), Sue Ann Pien (As We See It), Danielle Pinnock (Ghosts), Logan Shroyer (This Is Us) and Hannah Zeile (This Is Us). Albert Lawrence, correspondent for CBS' The Henry Ford's Innovation Nation and Television Academy Foundation alumnus, hosted the event.

Emulating the Emmy Awards selection process, entries for the College Television Awards were judged by Television Academy members. Top honors and a $3,000 cash prize went to winning teams in five categories:

Animation Series:

Stowaway (Brigham Young University - UT)
Tyler Bitner, Producer
Ethan Briscoe, Director/Writer

Commercial, PSA or Promo:

Life's Journey (Brigham Young University - UT)
Rebekah Baker, Producer
Campbell George, Writer
Asher Huskinson, Director
Tyler Richardson, Director

News and Sports:

SportsDesk (University of Miami)
Danyel De Villiers, Producer
Julia Hecht, Director
Michelle Ng-Reyes, Writer
Brendan Reilly, Writer
Gianna Sanchez, Producer
Maxwell Trink, Writer
Jenna Weiss, Producer
Josh White, Writer

Nonfiction or Reality Series:

Eagles Rest in Liangshan (New York University)
Bohao Liu, Producer/Director/Writer

Scripted Series:

Our Side (Savannah College of Art and Design)
Emily Dillard, Producer/Writer
Nicola Rinciari, Director/Writer

Two special awards were also announced during the program: The Loreen Arbus Focus on Disability Scholarship was presented to Taylor University students Chad Veal and Brendan Wallace for their production titled 20 Over. The $10,000 scholarship celebrates student storytellers whose work sheds light on people with disabilities and is underwritten by the Loreen Arbus Foundation.

The Seymour Bricker Humanitarian Award, a $4,000 cash prize given to a College Television Award-winning project that best highlights a humanitarian concern, was awarded to New York University's Eagles Rest in Liangshan by Bohao Liu. This award was created over 20 years ago by the late entertainment attorney Seymour Bricker.

The 41st College Television Awards show is available for VOD viewing at

"Congratulations to all of this year's winners in television's most prestigious student competition," said Cris Abrego, chair of the Television Academy Foundation. "Showcasing the exceptional work of young, diverse talent to help launch careers is a top priority for the Foundation. Our sincerest gratitude to the presenters and sponsors who made this event an unforgettable experience for students."

The 41st College Television Awards is supported by philanthropists and corporate partners including Creative Artists Agency (CAA), Johnny Carson Foundation, Kia America, PEOPLE®, Roku, STARZ, The Loreen Arbus Foundation, United Airlines® and WarnerMedia.

About the Television Academy Foundation
Established in 1959 as the charitable arm of the Television Academy, the Television Academy Foundation is dedicated to preserving the legacy of television while educating and inspiring those who will shape its future. Through renowned educational and outreach programs, such as The Interviews: An Oral History of Television Project, College Television Awards and Summit, Student Internship and Fellowship Programs and Faculty Conference, the Foundation seeks to widen the circle of voices our industry represents and to create more opportunity for television to reflect all of society. For more information on the Foundation, please visit


Media Contact:
Jane Sparango

breakwhitelight for the Television Academy

For the complete press release, click here.

Browser Requirements
The sites look and perform best when using a modern browser.

We suggest you use the latest version of any of these browsers:


Visiting the site with Internet Explorer or other browsers may not provide the best viewing experience.

Close Window