74th L.A. Area

Mario Solis backstage after winning the Sports News Story Emmy for NBC4’s Jiggy Izzy - Tomorrow's Basketball Star Today during the 74th Los Angeles Area Emmy Awards at the Television Academy Plaza on Saturday, July 23, 2022, in North Hollywood, California. 

July 23, 2022
Awards News

74th Los Angeles Area Emmy Awards Winners Announced

The 2022 Los Angeles Area Emmy Awards were presented tonight live on Emmys.com/LA from the Television Academy Plaza in North Hollywood.

Award-winning Spectrum News 1 journalist Giselle Fernández hosted this year's awards ceremony for the Television Academy, which was produced by Bob Bain and Bob Bain Productions. The livestreaming ceremony honored locally produced programs in the categories of Live and Breaking News Coverage, Crime and Social Issues, Culture and History, the Arts, Human Interest, Sports, and the Environment.

Presenting the individual awards categories this year were a number of local-area personalities, reporters and newscasters including: Host Giselle Fernández (Spectrum News 1), Argelia Atilano (KLCS), Rosey Alvero (KCET), Oswaldo Borraez (Univision), Dayna Devon (KTLA), John Hartung (Spectrum SportsNet LA), Elex Michaelson (FOX11/ KTTV), Patrick O'Neal (Bally Sports West), Sandra O'Neill (Telemundo/KVEA), George Pennacchio (ABC7), Michaela Pereira (Fox11/KTTV), Naibe Reynoso (LA County Channel/LA 36), Melvin Robert (Spectrum News 1), Amrit Singh (Spectrum News 1) and Mario Solis (NBC4).  

Television Academy Chairman and CEO Frank Scherma presented the 2022 Los Angeles Area Emmy Governors Award to KTLA's Gayle Anderson. The award is presented annually to an individual, company or organization that has made a substantial contribution to television broadcasting in the greater Los Angeles area. Anderson was recognized for several decades of exceptional and insightful reporting on events, causes and issues impacting viewers across the region as well as her personal commitment to community advocacy and her work for numerous charitable organizations and programs across the Southland.

A complete list of this year's Los Angeles Area Emmy Award winners, as compiled by the independent accounting firm of Ernst & Young LLP, is available here.

Christie Lyn Lugo Leigh and Stephanie Hampton are the Los Angeles Area governors.

The Los Angeles Area Emmys were made possible by Television Academy sponsors Kia America, Fiji Water, Franciacorta, JUSTIN Vineyards & Winery, Ketel One Vodka, PEOPLE, and United Airlines.

For more information, visit Emmys.com.


Stephanie Goodell
breakwhitelight (for the Television Academy)

For the complete press release, click here.

Browser Requirements
The TelevisionAcademy.com sites look and perform best when using a modern browser.

We suggest you use the latest version of any of these browsers:


Visiting the site with Internet Explorer or other browsers may not provide the best viewing experience.

Close Window