Fill 1
Fill 1
July 31, 2014
Awards News

Governors Award to Casting Icon Marion Dougherty

Late casting director Marion Dougherty — widely known for finding All in the Family's Archie Bunker and much more — will be honored with the 2014 Governors Award at the 66th Creative Arts Emmys. Juried award nods in Costume, Animation also revealed.

Casting director Marion Dougherty not only had an eye for talent, the department store window dresser-turned-Hollywood star-maker had the eye for talent.

But on August 16 at the Primetime Creative Arts Emmys, the Television Academy will turn the spotlight on to Dougherty — who cast such then-unknowns in her time as Warren Beatty, James Dean, Jack Klugman and even paired Carroll O’Connor with the role of Archie Bunker in groundbreaking series All in the Family — and posthumously honor her with the 2014 Governors Award.

The pioneering Pennsylvania native, who literally defined the role of the casting agent for both television and film, began her career in 1949 casting over 500 episodes of NBC’s Kraft Television Theatre. HBO aired the Emmy-nominated documentary Casting By on her career in 2013. 

Dougherty's work on Kraft introduced many young performers who grew to become huge celebrities: Beatty, Dean, Klugman, Jack Lemmon and more.

She meanwhile went on to cast such popular shows as Naked City and Route 66, and ultimately established her own casting agency.

Not bad for Pennsylvania State University grad who had taken off to New York shortly after finishing college in 1943, dreaming of a career in set design, and earned $45 a week creating window displays for Bergdorf Goodman for a stretch. 

Dougherty's gutsy, creative spirit drove her to think differently about how to discover the right performer for a given situation. 

Whereas conventional casting called for summoning streams of the same type of actors to read for a role, she instead pioneered the approach of selecting a just a handful of very different performers who could present varying nuances and options to a director.  

"I won't work on a project unless I appreciate the writing and the story and the characters," Dougherty said in an interview with scholar, author and screenwriter Andrew Horton. "When I read, it is always a good sign when an actor or actress I know pops into my mind as I read. Because I do, at that point, feel I know the character, I only need to bring in a very few candidates, not dozens." 

This approach lead to such lofty discoveries as Dustin Hoffman, Jon Voight, Martin Sheen, William Shatner, Christopher Walken, Robert Duval, Glenn Close and James Caan.

Among her greatest television moments, when Norman Lear approached Dougherty in 1969 to cast the pilot which later became CBS sitcom All in the Family, she fatefully recommended that Carroll O’Connor and Jean Stapleton play the bigoted though somehow loveable blowhard Archie Bunker and Archie's better, sweeter half, wife Edith.

Undisputedly one of the greatest television programs of all time, Archie, Edith and family tread upon such then-controversial ground as women's liberation, homosexuality, racism, rape, breast cancer, the Vietnam War, among other hot-button topics. All in the Family checked in at number one atop the Nielson ratings for 5 of its 8 years on the air.  

Juried Emmy Awards Also
Announced Today

Among other Primetime Emmy announcements today, the Academy announced the juried award winners for Outstanding Costumes for a Variety Program or Special and for Outstanding Individual Achievement in Animation. See complete list below:

Outstanding Costumes For A Variety Program Or A Special

Saturday Night Live • Host: Jimmy Fallon • NBC • SNL Studios in association with Universal Television and Broadway Video

Tom Broecker, Costume Designer 

Eric Justian, Costume Designer 

So You Think You Can Dance • Episode 1008 • FOX • Dick Clark Productions, Inc. and 19 Entertainment

Marina Toybina, Costume Designer 

Grainne O'Sullivan, Costume Supervisor 

Outstanding Individual Achievement In Animation

Adventure Time • Wizards Only, Fools • Cartoon Network • Cartoon Network Studios

Nick Jennings, Art Director

Disney Gravity Falls • Dreamscaperers • Disney Channel • Disney Television Animation

Ian Worrel, Art Director

Disney Mickey Mouse • ‘O Sole Minnie • Disney Channel • Disney Television Animation

Narina Sokolova, Background Painter

Disney Mickey Mouse • The Adorable Couple • Disney Channel • Disney Television Animation

Valerio Ventura, Background Designer

Long Live The Royals • • Cartoon Network Studios

Sean Szeles, Storyboard Artist

The Powerpuff Girls: Dance Pantsed • Cartoon Network • Cartoon Network Studios

Jasmin Lai, Background Painter

Robot Chicken DC Comics Special II: Villains In Paradise • Adult Swim • A Stoopid Buddy Stoodios Production in association with Stoopid Monkey and Williams Street

Cameron Baity, Animator

The Simpsons • Treehouse of Horror XXIV • FOX • Gracie Films in association with 20th Century Fox Television

Dmitry Malanitchev, Color Design Director

The Simpsons • Treehouse of Horror XXIV • FOX • Gracie Films in association with 20th Century Fox Television

Charles Ragins, Background Designer

Uncle Grandpa • Afraid of the Dark • Cartoon Network • Cartoon Network Studios

Nick Edwards, Character Designer

Governors and Juried Awards to be Presented 
the Creative Arts Emmys on Aug. 16 

These juried honors, along with the Governors Award, will be bestowed during the Creative Arts Emmy Awards on Saturday, August 16.  The show will be produced by Spike Jones Jr. and  

An edited version of the awards will be broadcast on FXM on Sunday, August 24 at 8pm ET/PT and 10pm ET/PT.  

Additionally, the Creative Arts Emmys will be streamed as part of the Backstage LIVE show on at 12:00pm PT / 3:00pm ET on Monday, August 25 prior to the Primetime Emmy Awards preshow and Backstage LIVE. 

Juried Primetime Emmy Awards Procedures: The juried categories require each entrant to be screened by a panel of professionals in the peer group, with the possibility of one, more than one or no entry being awarded an Emmy. As a consequence, there are no nominees, but instead a one-step evaluation and voting procedure.  Deliberations include an open discussion of the work of each entrant, with a thorough review of the merits of awarding the Emmy. At the conclusion of each deliberation, the jury votes on the question, “Is this entry worthy of an Emmy award – yea or nay?” Only those with unanimous approval win.  

Browser Requirements
The sites look and perform best when using a modern browser.

We suggest you use the latest version of any of these browsers:


Visiting the site with Internet Explorer or other browsers may not provide the best viewing experience.

Close Window