Kirsten Vangsness hosting the 68th Engineering Emmy Awards

September 27, 2017
Awards News

69th Engineering Emmy Awards Recipients Announced

Kirsten Vangsness Slated to Host This Year's Awards Ceremony on October 25 at Loews Hollywood Hotel

The Television Academy today announced the recipients of the 69th Engineering Emmy Awards honoring an individual, company or organization for developments in broadcast technology. Kirsten Vangsness, star of the critically-acclaimed CBS drama Criminal Minds, will host the awards for the second consecutive year on Wednesday, October 25, at the Loews Hollywood Hotel.

The following is a list of awards to be presented:

The Charles F. Jenkins Lifetime Achievement Award
Honors a living individual whose ongoing contributions have significantly affected the state of television technology and engineering.

Recipient: Leonardo Chiariglione

As founder and chairman of Motion Picture Experts Group (MPEG), Leonardo Chiariglione has led MPEG in setting the worldwide standards for digital video compression and transmission. He will be honored for his pioneering technology and innovation efforts in the field of video compression.

The Philo T. Farnsworth Corporate Achievement Award
Honors an agency, company or institution whose contributions over time have substantially impacted television technology and engineering.

Recipient: Sony Corporation

Established in 1946 as the Tokyo Telecommunications Engineering Corporation, Sony Corporation's contributions in technology, content and services have significantly influenced all areas of television production. Today, Sony is a major supplier of professional equipment in virtually every type of television production including scripted/unscripted entertainment, news gathering and sports coverage.

Engineering Emmys
Presented to an individual, company or organization for engineering developments that considerably improve existing methods or innovations that materially affect the transmission, recording or reception of television.

This year's seven (7) Engineering Emmy recipients are:

Recipient: ARRI Alexa Camera System

The ARRI Alexa camera system's digital imaging capabilities, along with its completely integrated post production workflow, represent dynamic and transformative television technology. The tool's original features, including its cohesive color pipeline, onboard recording of both raw and compressed video images, and easy-to-use interface have contributed to the television industry's widespread adoption of the technology.

Recipient: Canon 4k Zoom Lenses
Recipient: Fujinon 4k Zoom Lenses

Canon and Fujifilm (Fujinon) each independently developed 4K field production zoom lenses for large sensor or super 35mm cameras providing imagery in television that could only be accomplished previously by prime lenses. These lenses produce 4K images with high contrast, high spatial frequency response with low flare for video production with the maximum possible focal range. In Ultra High Definition Television production large format, 4K zoom lenses have become indispensable.

Recipient: Disney Global Localization

Disney developed a pioneering system, method and technology that allows for foreign language dubs and subtitled versions to be efficiently created and released globally. This was made possible through the use of innovative integrated purpose-built software tools including a Disney patented casting system and automation templates. This pioneering methodology has become the industry's de facto model for global delivery of localized assets and finished programs, increasing the ability to more quickly bring content to the rapidly expanding international marketplace.

Recipient: McDSP SA-2 Dialog Processor
An important part of dialog processing is to fill out the limitations made by microphone placement and locations under normal production conditions. In the early 1990s, Joseph A. Brennan, Gary L. G. Simpson and Michael Minkler developed the Sonic Assault, an analog dialog processor with the ability to control transients and maintain the clarity and integrity of dialog by attenuating peaks and sibilance. Minkler and Colin McDowell updated the original Sonic Assault and developed the SA-2 Plug-in released in September 2015. This digital simulation of the original Sonic Assault box made it possible to integrate this analog technology in contemporary digital mixes. Since then, the SA-2 dialog processor has become an integral part of the workflow for television mixers.

Recipient: High Efficiency Video Coding

The development of High Efficiency Video Coding (HEVC) has enabled efficient delivery in ultra-high-definition (UHD) content over multiple distribution channels. This new compression coding has been adopted, or selected for adoption, by all UHD television distribution channels, including terrestrial, satellite, cable, fiber and wireless, as well as all UHD viewing devices, including traditional televisions, tablets and mobile phones. The Emmy goes to the Joint Collaborative Team on Video Coding (JCT-VC), a group of engineers from the Video Coding Experts Group (VCEG) of the International Telecommunication Union (ITU) and the Moving Picture Experts Group (MPEG) of the International Organization for Standardization (ISO) and the International Electrotechnical Commission (IEC) for the development of High Efficiency Video Coding.

Recipient: Shotgun Software

Shotgun Software is a production management platform designed to streamline collaborative broadcast, episodic animation and visual effects pipelines. Shotgun connects dispersed teams throughout the production process to avoid wasted resources and miscommunication, and allow directors and producers to make more informed decisions about their artistry. Providing a centralized hub for producers, managers, directors, artists and supervisors, with immediate access to anything from shot status, schedules and director's notes, to the latest version of a cut, Shotgun has become a ubiquitous and important tool in the complex world of visual effects production.

About the 69th Engineering Emmy Awards
The 69th Engineering Emmy Awards are overseen by Chair Barry Zegel and committee members Wendy Aylsworth, Ruth Adelman, Stuart Bass, Chris Cookson, Jim DeFilippis, Frank Morrone, Leon Silverman, David Stump and Craig Weiss.

# # #

Stephanie Goodell
breakwhitelight (for the Television Academy)

For the complete press release, click here.

Browser Requirements
The sites look and perform best when using a modern browser.

We suggest you use the latest version of any of these browsers:


Visiting the site with Internet Explorer or other browsers may not provide the best viewing experience.

Close Window