The interactive media team for Westworld accepts their award at the 2017 Creative Arts Emmys.

The interactive media team for Westworld accepts their award at the 2017 Creative Arts Emmys.

Zaldy Goco and Perry Meek accept their award at the 2017 Creative Arts Emmys.

Zaldy Goco and Perry Meek accept their award at the 2017 Creative Arts Emmys.

The Saturday Night Live team accepts an award at the 2017 Creative Arts Emmys.

The Saturday Night Live team accepts an award at the 2017 Creative Arts Emmys. 

Jay Cassidy accepts his award at the 2017 Creative Arts Emmys.

Jay Cassidy accepts his award at the 2017 Creative Arts Emmys. 

Fill 1
Fill 1
September 10, 2017
Awards News

HBO Leads the Way at Sunday Creative Arts Emmys with 16, Netflix next with 11

Dave Chappelle, Melissa McCarthy, Alexis Bledel and Gerald McRaney named outstanding guest performers. Kim Estes and Jane Lynch win for short-form acting.

Juan Morales

HBO led the pack at the Sunday-night frame of the 2017 Creative Arts Emmys with 16 awards, driven by five for the fantasy drama series Westworld, four for the limited series The Night Of and three each for the long-running comedy Veep and the limited series Big Little Lies. Netflix followed with 11 Emmys, five of them for the 1980s-set supernatural drama Stranger Things.

Others grabbing multiple awards on Sunday were FX with four and Hulu and NBC with three each.

Get the complete list of Creative Arts Emmy Award winners. See photo galleries from the red carpet, the show, and the Creative Arts Governors Ball.

As with the show the night before, the Sunday Creative Arts focused primarily on key technical disciplines and behind-the-scenes crafts of television production, such as production design, casting, cinematography, costumes, hairstyling, makeup, lighting design, music, picture editing, sound editing and mixing, special visual effects, stunts, title design and more.

At the Sunday show, the focus was on scripted programming; Saturday had been devoted to unscripted and documentary programming.

In addition to the crafts categories, Sunday included awards for commercials, children’s series, interactive series and short-form series, as well as several acting categories.

The awards for guest actor and guest actress in a comedy went to Dave Chappelle and Melissa McCarthy — both for their stints as host of NBC’s iconic sketch series Saturday Night Live. Alexis Bledel won the award for guest actress in a drama series for her performance as Ofglen, one of the tormented handmaids in the dystopian Hulu drama The Handmaid’s Tale. Gerald McRaney was named outstanding guest actor in a drama series for his work as Dr. Nathan Katowski, the benevolent pediatrician in the pilot episode of the heart-tugging NBC drama This Is Us.

The Emmys were the second of McCarthy’s career and the first for Bledel, Chappelle and McRaney.

Also taking home his first Emmy was Kim Estes, who won in the category of outstanding actor in a short-form comedy or drama series for the role of Amanda in the Vimeo comedy Dicks. Jane Lynch won her fourth career Emmy when she was named outstanding actress in a short-form comedy or drama series for her performance as Olivia Vanderstein in the Amazon comedy Dropping the Soap.

HBO’s five for Westworld came in the categories of interactive media, sound mixing, special visual effects, hairstyling and makeup. The Night Of prevailed in cinematography, sound mixing, costumes and picture editing. The three wins for Big Little Lies included the first-ever Emmy for music supervision — which went to Susan Jacobs — as well as casting and costumes. Veep took its three for casting, cinematography and production design. The premium cabler won its other Sunday-night Emmy for Once Upon a Sesame Street Christmas, in the category of outstanding children’s program.

The five for Netflix’s Stranger Things came for main title design, main title theme music, casting, picture editing and sound editing. The streaming service also won for The Crown, its period drama about the life and reign of Queen Elizabeth II of England (costumes, production design); the single-camera comedy Master of None (picture editing); the multi-camera comedy The Ranch (cinematography); the political drama House of Cards (original dramatic score); and the Marvel drama Luke Cage (stunt coordination for a drama series, limited series or movie).

In addition to the acting honor for Bledel, Hulu’s The Handmaid’s Tale was recognized for its production design and cinematography

Two of the four FX wins came for the limited series Feud: Bette and Joan (hairstyling, makeup), as well as single wins for American Horror Story: Roanoke (makeup) and Fargo (music composition).

Other Emmys included:

Short-form comedy or drama series — Los Pollos Hermanos Employee Training, AMC

Original interactive program — The People’s House — Inside the White House with Barack and Michelle Obama, Samsung/Oculus, Felix & Paul Studios

Outstanding commercial — Squarespace, Calling, John X. Hannes, ad agency, Smuggler, production company

Multi-camera picture editing for a comedy series — The Big Bang Theory, CBS

Stunt coordination for a comedy series or variety program — Shameless, Showtime

Special visual effects in a supporting role — Gotham, Fox

Sound mixing for a comedy or drama series (half hour) and animation — Mozart in the Jungle, Amazon

The night’s presenters included Angela Bassett (911 and Black Panther), Alexis Bledel (The Handmaid’s Tale), Michael Bolton (Honest Trailers), Laverne Cox (Orange Is the New Black), Kether Donahue (You’re the Worst), Ann Dowd (The Handmaid’s Tale; The Leftovers), Jermaine Fowler (Superior Donuts), Chris Geere (You’re the Worst), Joseph Gordon-Levitt (Are You There, Democracy? It's Me, The Internet), Kathryn Hahn (Transparent; I Love Dick), Tom Hanks (Saturday Night Live), Brian Tyree Henry (Atlanta; This is Us), John Michael Higgins (Tween Fest; Great News), Maz Jobrani (Superior Donuts), Jane Lynch (Dropping the Soap and Hollywood Game Night), Wendi McLendon-Covey (The Goldbergs), Gerald McRaney (This Is Us), Kumail Najiani (Silicon Valley), Niecy Nash (Claws), Jason Ritter (Tales of Titans), Matthew Rhys (The Americans), Reid Scott (Veep), Martin Starr (Silicon Valley), Stephen Tobolowsky (One Day at a Time; Silicon Valley), Courtney B. Vance (American Crime Story), James Wolk (Zoo) and B.D. Wong (Mr. Robot).

Bob Bain was executive producer of the Creative Arts Emmys for the third consecutive year. The other executive producers were Jonathan Murray, chair of the Creative Arts Emmy Awards Committee, and vice-chair Bob Bergen.

The other members of the Creative Arts Committee are Eva Basler, Janet Dimon, Peter Golden, CSA, Monte C. Haught, Kieran Healy, John D. O’Brien, Mark Scott Spatny and Ann Leslie Uzvadinis.

FXX will air an edited version, with highlights from both shows, on Saturday, September 16, at 8:00 p.m (ET/PT).

The remaining Emmys will be announced at the 69th Emmy Awards telecast on Sunday, September 17. Hosted by Stephen Colbert, the show will air live coast-to-coast on CBS from the Microsoft Theater L.A. LIVE in downtown Los Angeles. The executive producers are Ricky Kirshner and Glenn Weiss of White Cherry Entertainment.

A complete list of winners is available here.


Browser Requirements
The sites look and perform best when using a modern browser.

We suggest you use the latest version of any of these browsers:


Visiting the site with Internet Explorer or other browsers may not provide the best viewing experience.

Close Window