Cris Abrego

Cris Abrego

November 17, 2023
Academy News

Academy Elects Cris Abrego as New Chair

Academy Announces Newly Elected Officers and Governors for 2024-2025 Term

The Television Academy announced today that its Board of Governors has elected Cris Abrego as its chair. Abrego was elected to a two-year term beginning January 1, 2024, and succeeds Frank Scherma, who has served since January 2019.

The Academy also announced its newly-elected officers and governors who will serve on the board for the 2024 – 2025 term. 

Renowned as a creative entrepreneur, entertainment executive, award-winning producer and philanthropist, Cris Abrego is the CEO of the recently launched Hyphenate Media Group, a media holding company and premium-content studio he co-founded with his longtime collaborator, Eva Longoria. He has served on the Academy's executive committee and as chair of the Television Academy Foundation since 2021.

Throughout his career, Abrego has overseen multiple independent production studios, most recently on behalf of international media and entertainment powerhouse Banijay, where he continues to serve as Chairman of the Americas. Previously, Abrego held the position of CEO of Endemol Shine Holdings where he expanded the company significantly by scaling several acquisitions under its banner, including Endemol Shine Boomdog, Endemol Shine Brasil and Truly Original.

As co-founder of 51 Minds Entertainment in 2003, Abrego is credited as an early architect of the unscripted television genre. He grew that company from its boutique beginnings to a major unscripted studio acquired by Endemol five years later.

Over the course of two decades, Abrego has been responsible for thousands of hours of content across more than 200 series for network, cable and streaming television.

"I am honored to step into this role and feel the significant weight of responsibility in leading the Television Academy into the future, especially in this transformative moment in our business," said Abrego. "Our members represent one of the most powerful and exciting industries in the world — our content drives local and global economies and has a formative impact on our culture. As the entertainment ecosystem continues to undergo seismic shifts, I look forward to linking arms with our new officers and governors to lead our Academy and support our membership as we forge the path ahead together."

The incoming officers, elected by the Board of Governors, who will serve a two-year term beginning Jan. 1, 2024, through Dec. 31, 2025, are: Sharon Lieblein, Vice Chair; Rickey Minor, 2nd Vice Chair; Allison Binder, Secretary; and Ann Leslie Uzdavinis, Treasurer.

Similarly, the Academy's newly elected governors, who will serve a two-year term through 2025, are listed by peer group along with their co-governors who continue to serve two-year terms ending Dec. 31, 2024.

Additionally, the Television Academy has added the title of CEO to its President and (now) CEO Maury McIntyre, renewing his contract through 2026. Chief Financial Officer and (newly named) Chief Operating Officer, Heather Cochran, and Chief Marketing Officer and SVP of Media & Brand Management, Susan Spencer, extended their contracts through 2025.


Jim Yeager
breakwhitelight (for the Television Academy)
Cell: 818-264-6812

For the complete press release, click here.

Browser Requirements
The sites look and perform best when using a modern browser.

We suggest you use the latest version of any of these browsers:


Visiting the site with Internet Explorer or other browsers may not provide the best viewing experience.

Close Window