November 19, 2021
Academy News

Academy Announces Newly-Elected Officers and Governors for 2022-2023

The Television Academy today announced the newly elected officers and members to the Board of Governors who will serve two-year terms beginning on Jan. 1, 2022 – Dec. 31, 2023. An unprecedented 41% of those elected are new to the Academy's boardroom, including two governors representing the newly created Science & Technology Peer Group.

Current Chairman and CEO Frank Scherma (Commercials and Producers Peer Groups) was reelected for a second term. He will be joined by Vice Chair Sharon Lieblein (Casting Directors), Second Vice Chair Rickey Minor (Music), Secretary Allison Binder (Professional Representatives) and Treasurer Ann Leslie Uzdavinis (Commercials). All will serve a two-year term.

Click here for the Academy's Board of Governors for 2022.

The 25 newly elected governors who will serve their first-ever term are: Anya Adams (Directors); Kaz Aizawa (Animation); Wendy Aylsworth (Science & Technology); Edward H. Bonin (Special Visual Effects); Shannon Buck (Public Relations); Nikki Carbonetta (Makeup Artists/Hairstylists); Sherri Chung (Music); Ana Criado (Motion & Title Design); Nicole Demerse (Writers); Nena Erb, ACE (Picture Editors); Kim Estes (Performers); Scott A. Freeman (Reality Programming); Stephanie Hampton (Los Angeles Area); Marc Hirschfeld, CSA (Casting Directors); Dominique Kelley (Choreography); Kira Kelly, ASC (Cinematographers); Senain Kheshgi (Documentary Programming); Charlie McBrearty (Commercials); George Mooradian, ASC (Cinematographers); Phillip W. Palmer, CAS (Sound); Larry Rosenthal (Stunts); Hollann Sobers (Production Executives); Vito Trotta (Makeup Artists/Hairstylists); Steve Viola (Motion & Title Design); and Barry B. Zegel (Science & Technology).

Seven governors were reelected to serve a second term: Debra Curtis (Television Executives), Laura Guzik (Costume Design & Supervision), Bryan Leder (Professional Representatives), David Plakos (Lighting, Camera & Technical Arts), Keith Raskin (Producers), Troy Underwood (Children's Programming), James Yarnell (Art Directors/Set Decorators).

Additionally, two of the governors elected are returning to the board to serve a new two-year term after a multiple-year absence from the Television Academy's governing body: Brenda Brkusic Milinkovic (Daytime Programming) and Christopher B. Reeves (Sound Editors).


Stephanie Goodell
breakwhitelight (for the Television Academy)

For the complete press release, click here.

Browser Requirements
The sites look and perform best when using a modern browser.

We suggest you use the latest version of any of these browsers:


Visiting the site with Internet Explorer or other browsers may not provide the best viewing experience.

Close Window