Social Icons

Social Connect

Press Releases
March 09, 2013

Release: Maury McIntyre to Lead Television Academy Digital

Maury McIntyre, who most recently served as Vice President of Programming and Editorial for Disney Interactive, is the new Vice President of Digital at the Academy of Television Arts & Sciences.


NoHo Arts District, CA – The Academy of Television Arts & Sciences has hired Maury McIntyre as its Vice President of Digital, bringing all of the Academy’s digital initiatives and platforms under his purview.

McIntyre will report directly to Television Academy COO Alan Perris, and will be responsible for the Academy’s digital strategy, editorial, operations and revenue-generation across the Academy’s websites and multiple platforms.

McIntyre will develop digital marketing strategies with the marketing department, establish online/social media partnerships, and continue to drive events, educational content, benefits and other services into digital channels for the Television Academy membership and the public.

“Maury has an amazing track record of success in the digital space and is the perfect executive to lead the Academy’s continued digital development and drive our Emmy® and Academy brands through multiple platforms,” said Academy COO Alan Perris.

Prior to joining the Television Academy, McIntyre was most recently Vice President of Programming and Editorial for Disney Interactive. McIntyre oversaw content and development for over 60 sites for Disney Interactive and delivered unprecedented increases in online traffic and engagement across numerous sites on the network.

Under his direction, the company won numerous Webby People’s Voice Awards in 2011 and 2012 for excellence in website design, content, and usability.

Before his tenure with Disney Interactive, McIntyre held senior-level leadership roles in brand marketing and franchise development at Tokyopop and Twentieth Century Fox. His efforts successfully launched a new animated series on Cartoon Network and secured partnerships with Hasbro, Konami, Radio Shack, Borders Bookstores and Best Buy for Tokyopop.

At Twentieth Century Fox, McIntyre led the global re-launch of The Simpsons as a major consumer products brand, generating 600% brand growth with partners such as Kellogg’s, Playmates, Mattel, PepsiCo, Burger King, and others.

Maury holds an MFA in Film & Theatre Production Management from the California Institute of the Arts. He also earned his Master of Science in Bio-organic Chemistry from Stanford University, and both a Bachelor of Arts in Biochemistry and a Bachelor of Science in Chemistry from the University of Texas at Austin.

About the Academy of Television Arts & Sciences

The Television Academy has awarded Emmys for interactive media excellence since 2002, and beginning in 2008, broadband or digital programming has been eligible in its annual Primetime Emmy Awards. This year, it is anticipated that many programs available only via digital platforms will enter the Emmy competition in the Drama and Comedy series categories. The Television Academy provides a “For Your Consideration” screener site for the convenience of its voting members, makes its monthly membership events available to the general public via live webcasts on, creates digital content around its annual Hall of Fame and Television Academy Honors ceremonies, and engages its members, the television industry and the public via various social media channels.

The Academy of Television Arts & Sciences, founded in 1946 at the birth of the medium, is a non-profit organization devoted to the advancement of telecommunication arts, sciences and creative leadership. Known for recognizing outstanding programming through its Primetime Emmy® Awards, the Television Academy also publishes emmy magazine. Its charitable Foundation operates the Archive of American Television, College Television Awards, acclaimed student internships and other educational outreach programs. 

Chris Dilorio/Joanna Cichocki

Add Your Comment

Must See

Seth Meyers to Host 66th Primetime Emmy Awards

Don Mischer named as executive producer

Primetime Emmy Awards

Click here to submit your entry into the Primetime Emmy Awards.

35th College Television Awards

Jessica St. Clair and Lennon Parham (USA Network's Playing House) host the event.