Social Icons

Social Connect

Press Releases
June 25, 2013

Release: Key Art Unveiled for the 65th Primetime Emmy Awards

This year's artwork is designed to capture the excitement of the primetime television spectacular.

NoHo Arts District, CA, June 26th 2013 – The Academy of Television Arts & Sciences has unveiled the key art for the 65th Primetime Emmy® Awards. This year's artwork is designed to capture the excitement of the primetime television spectacular. The Emmy name is featured in radiant lights, sparks cascading from fireworks overhead, embers dancing as they hit the floor, all boldly illuminating the Emmy statuette. It's a visual mix of light and energy, those moments right before you hear "... and the Emmy goes to..." when the 65th Primetime Emmy Awards air live coast to coast (8:00 ET/5:00 PT) on Sunday, September 22nd on the CBS Television Network.

The key art can be seen by visiting Media and other outlets looking to download the artwork should visit

The Emmy statuette was created in 1948 when Television Academy founders ran a contest to design a trophy for their annual awards ceremony recognizing excellence in the newly-created television industry. Engineer Louis McManus submitted the winning design that depicted a winged "muse of art, uplifting the electron of science." McManus' wife was the model for the muse. Television engineer and future (1949) Academy president Harry Lubcke suggested the statuette be called "Immy," a nickname for the image-orthicon camera tube used in the technical development of television. "Immy" was subsequently feminized to "Emmy."

Nominations for the Primetime Emmy Awards will be announced Thursday, July 18th at 5:40 AM PT from the Leonard H. Goldenson Theatre at the headquarters for the Academy of Television Arts & Sciences in the NoHo Arts District. The nominations announcement will also be streamed live at

The 65th Primetime Emmy Awards will originate from the Nokia Theatre L.A. LIVE in Los Angeles. The telecast will be hosted by Neil Patrick Harris who will also produce alongside executive producer Ken Ehrlich.

# # #

Press Contacts:

Joanna Cichocki   310-854-4773
Brian Rubin   310-854-4773

CBS Publicity:
Phil Gonzales   818-655-1580
Andrea Ballas   818-655-1581

Add Your Comment

Must See

Watch the Live Webcast tonight starting at 7:00pm PDT

Primetime Emmy Awards

Entries are now being accepted for the 66th Primetime Emmy Awards. Click here to submit.