Social Icons

Social Connect

Awards News
May 07, 2014

National Academy Announces Sports Emmy Winners

Ted Turner received the Lifetime Achievement Award for Sports

  • Malachy Wienges, Ted Turner, David Levy

    Malachy Wienges, Chairman, NATAS, Ted Turner, David Levy, President, Turner Broadcasting System

The National Academy of Television Arts and Sciences (NATAS) announced the winners of the 35th Annual Sports Emmy Awards at a special ceremony at Jazz at Lincoln Center's Frederick P. Rose Hall in New York City. Winners in 39 categories including Outstanding Live Sports Special, Live Series, Sports Documentary, Studio Show, Promotional Announcements, Play-by-Play Personality, Studio Analyst and three new categories honoring Spanish-speaking programming and talent.

The awards were presented by a distinguished group of sports figures and television personalities including Al Leiter and Harold Reynolds (studio analysts, MLB Tonight, MLB Network); Ron Darling (analyst tbs); Joe Buck (play by play announcer, Fox Sports) and Michael Strahan, (studio analyst, Fox NFL Sunday); Michael Irvin (studio analyst, NFL Network); Hannah Storm (studio host, ESPN); Gary Danielson (event analyst, SEC on CBS); David Feherty (host & golf analyst, Golf Channel & CBS); Jim Lampley (Host, HBO Boxing); Claudio Reyna (former US Men's Soccer Team Captain); and Julius Erving, "Dr. J" (former NBA All-Star and Hall of Fame member).

The Sports Emmy Award recipients were chosen by a Blue Ribbon Panel of industry peers. The awards recognize outstanding achievement by individuals and programs broadcast throughout the 2013 calendar year.

For a full report, including the complete list of award recipients, visit the National Academy of Television Arts & Sciences.

Add Your Comment

Must See

Explore the latest Emmy magazine

The Assassination of Gianni Versace in Emmy

Under the Cover with Versace

Go behind the scenes with our cover shoot.

Colin Jost & Michael Che to Host Emmys

SNL "Weekend Update" anchors and Emmy-nominated writers will headline NBC's Sept. 17 event.
Surprise appearances by other Saturday Night Live cast.