Social Icons

Social Connect

November 17, 2009


North Hollywood, CA –The Academy of Television Arts & Sciences will present the Los Angeles Area Governors Award to the Pasadena Tournament of Roses during the Los Angeles Area Emmy® Awards on Saturday, August 29, 2009, Television Academy Chairman-CEO John Shaffner announced today.

The prestigious Governors Award will be presented at the Television Academy's Leonard H. Goldenson Theatre in North Hollywood. The Los Angeles Area Governors Award is bestowed upon an individual, company, or an organization for outstanding, innovative and visionary achievement in the arts, sciences or management of television; or an influential person or entity having made an industry-wide contribution which is either of a cumulative nature or so extraordinary and universal in nature as to be beyond the scope of the awards presented in the categories and areas of achievement.
"The Tournament of Roses Parade and Rose Bowl Game are quintessential elements of American culture and every New Year’s celebration,” Shaffner says. “The annual arrival of these spectacular events, which are among the longest-running specials on television, is the result of the tremendous efforts of this organization’s nearly 1,000 volunteers. Not only do they consistently deliver spectacular parades and games but bring together millions of families around the globe for all of the joy, pageantry and a true sense of community. We cannot think of an organization more deserving of this great honor."

Each year’s Pasadena Tournament of Roses Parade and Rose Bowl Game spotlight the beauty and splendor of Pasadena and the surrounding Los Angeles area. Throughout the organization's 120-year history, the Tournament of Roses has drawn countless thousands of travelers to Southern California to witness the magic of the parade. Since the 1940s, millions have gathered around their televisions for glimpses of the sights and sounds broadcast from the famed intersection of Orange Grove and Colorado.

On January 1, 2010, the Tournament of Roses will kick-off its 121st Parade and 96th Rose Bowl Game. The first Tournament of Roses, staged in 1890 by members of Pasadena's Valley Hunt Club, was comprised of former East Coast and Midwest residents eager to showcase their new home's mild winter weather. During the next few years, the festival expanded to include marching bands, motorized floats and reviewing stands that were built along the parade route.
Today, the Tournament of Roses features elaborate floats with high-tech computerized animation and exotic natural materials from around the world. Each New Year's Day, the world focuses its attention on Pasadena to watch a celebration of flowers, music and sports unequaled anywhere in the world.

The organization's annual telecasts across multiple networks have made a lasting impact on television. With its broadcast partners garnering 11 Los Angeles Area Emmy Awards, the Parade continues to deliver outstanding ratings and, throughout the years, thousands of Tournament volunteers have worked tirelessly with broadcasters to provide exciting family entertainment.

Known as "The Granddaddy of the Them All," the Rose Bowl Game kicked off a myriad of college football legacies in 1902. Since then, the game has showcased 18 Heisman Trophy Winners, produced 28 National Champions, featured 192 consensus All Americans and honored 95 college football legends by inducting them into The Rose Bowl Hall of Fame. The Rose Bowl Game has been a sellout attraction every year since 1947, which was the first game played under the Tournament’s exclusive agreement with the Big Ten and Pac-10 conferences. The 1998 Rose Bowl was the 52nd anniversary of that agreement -- the longest standing tradition of any collegiate conference and bowl association. Now, as part of the Bowl Championship Series, the Rose Bowl has hosted the National Championship Game between the top two teams in the nation both in 2002 and 2006. It will host the National Championship again in 2010.
The Governors Award has been bestowed upon many individuals, companies and organizations that have made an impact in the Los Angeles Community. Past recipients include The Los Angeles Dodgers, Bill Stout, Hal Fishman, Johnny Grant, KCET, Ted Meyers, Bill Welch, Vin Scully, Jerry Dunphy, Larry McCormick, George Putnam, Gene Autry, KTLA, Stan Chambers, KMEX, Jess Marlow, Kelly Lange, Joel Tator, Chick Hearn, Pete Noyes, Dr. George Fischbeck, KMEX Univision, Bob Eubanks, Stan Freberg and Telemundo’s KVEA

For a complete list of nominations, click here.

*   *   *

About the Academy of Television Arts & Sciences

The Academy of Television Arts & Sciences was founded in 1946 just one month after network television was born. It is a non-profit organization devoted to the advancement of telecommunications arts and sciences and to fostering creative leadership in the telecommunications industry.

In addition to recognizing outstanding programming through its Emmy® Award, the Television Academy publishes Emmy® Magazine and stages many industry-related programs, services and year-round events for the television community.

For additional press information and resources concerning the Academy of Television Arts & Sciences, please direct your inquiries to Robin Mesger of The Lippin Group at (323) 965-1990.

*   *   *

Press Contacts

For the Academy of Television Arts & Sciences:
Robin Mesger

The Lippin Group

(323) 965-1990

Lauren Kelcher

The Lippin Group

(323) 965-1990

Add Your Comment

Must See

35th College Television Awards

Jessica St. Clair and Lennon Parham (USA Network's Playing House) host the event.

Primetime Emmy Awards

Entries are now being accepted for the 66th Primetime Emmy Awards. Click here to submit.