Social Icons

Social Connect

Academy News
November 21, 2013

Television Academy Elects Remaining Officer for 2014

Newly Elected Governors For 2014 Also Announced

Returning Television Academy Chairman Bruce Rosenblum and other returning officers for the 2014 – 2015 term will be joined by Rob Swartz who was elected tonight by the Academy's Board of Governors to serve as Secretary for a two-year term which begins January 2014.

Rob Swartz is the President of Venn Media, which develops programming for cable, broadcast, syndication and digital platforms. Previously, Swartz served as Vice President of Original Series for Cartoon Network where he oversaw development and current programming for all of the network's original animated, live action and alternative series, including Adventure Time, Regular Show, Ben 10: Ultimate Alien, Hole in the Wall, Dude What Would Happen and Destroy Build Destroy. Prior to that, Swartz was Vice President of Alternative Programming at Syfy where he developed and launched Destination Truth, Who Wants to be a Superhero? and was responsible for overseeing the successful Ghost Hunters franchise.

Swartz has held positions at NBC Entertainment, Walt Disney/Touchstone Television, MXG, and Chris Craft/United Television. He has served as governor of the Television Executives Peer Group as well as a governors' appointee to the Executive Committee, chair of the Digital Strategy Committee, and on the Academy's Membership Committee.

Swartz is very active with the Television Academy Foundation and regularly gives the kickoff presentation each year to the Student Internship Program class and Faculty Seminar participants. A graduate of Brown University and Harvard Business School, Swartz teaches CTVA 482-Network Program Development, at Cal State-Northridge. He lives in Los Angeles with his wife and two children.

Rob Swartz will join previously announced officers who ran uncontested:

Chair - Bruce Rosenblum

Vice Chair - Kevin Hamburger

Second Vice Chair - Frank Scherma

Treasurer - Susan Nessanbaum-Goldberg

Los Angeles Area Vice Chair - Greg Taylor

Several peer groups also elected new governors to serve two year terms beginning January 1, 2014.

They include:

Ruth Adelman – Sound Editors Peer Group
Eric Anderson – Motion & Title Design Peer Group
Bob Bergen – Performers Peer Group
Allison Binder – Professional Representatives Peer Group
Dan Birman – Documentary Programming Peer Group
Scott Boyd, A.C.E. – Picture Editors Peer Group
Sue Bub – Costume Design & Supervision Peer Group
Russell Calabrese – Animation Peer Group
Gerri Shaftel Constant – Los Angeles Area
Rick Fishbein – Commercials Peer Group
Ian Fraser – Music Peer Group
Tim Gibbons – Producers Peer Group
Tammy Glover – Production Executives Peer Group
Monte Haught – Makeup Artists / Hairstylists Peer Group
Tana Nugent Jamieson – Television Executives Peer Group
Chip Johannessen – Writers Peer Group
Marc Johnson – Interactive Media Peer Group
David Kleeman – Children's Programming Peer Group
Sharon Lieblein, CSA – Casting Directors Peer Group
Angelica McDaniel – Daytime Programming Peer Group
Jonathan Murray – Reality Programming Peer Group
John O'Brien – Electronic Production Peer Group
Russ Patrick – Public Relations Peer Group
William Powloski – Special Visual Effects Peer Group
Fred Savage – Directors Peer Group
Steven Venezia, C.A.S. – Sound Peer Group
Thom Williams – Stunts Peer Group
Kenneth Zunder, ASC – Cinematographers Peer Group

*The election results for the governor of the Art Directors / Set Decorators Peer Group will be announced on December 2nd.

Chris DiIorio – PMK*BNC

Add Your Comment

Must See

Nominations Announced

Nominees for 70th Emmy Awards were announced today.
Click for full details.

Nominations Announced

Ryan Eggold and Samira Wiley announced the Nominees for 70th Emmy Awards.
Click for full details.