Social Icons

Social Connect

Television Academy Hall of Fame

With the induction of Ray Dolby, David E. Kelley, Jay Leno, Julia Louis-Dreyfus, Rupert Murdoch, and Brandon Stoddard, the Television Academy's Hall of Fame has grown to well over 125 honorees.

These pioneers have helped shape the most important and influential medium of our time, whether in front of the camera or behind it.

The Hall of Fame honors actors, comics, directors, producers, costume designers, writers, animators, executives, reporters, explorers—and the list goes on and on, covering the gamut of talent that it takes to entertain, inform and enrich a mass audience.

History of the Award

The Hall of Fame was founded by a former president of the Television Academy, the late John H. Mitchell.

Mitchell sought to honor individuals who have made extraordinary contributions to television. In the words of the selection committee, the Hall of Fame is for "persons who have made outstanding contributions in the arts, sciences or management of television, based upon either cumulative contributions and achievements or a singular contribution or achievement."

The first ceremony in 1984 celebrated the careers of Lucille Ball, Milton Berle, Paddy Chayefsky, Norman Lear, Edward R. Murrow, William S. Paley and David Sarnoff. The honorees received glass statuettes in the form of two ballet dancers that were created by sculptor and painter Pascal to reflect the self-discipline required in all facets of the arts.

Since 1988, inductees have brought home an award in the form of a crystal television screen atop a cast-bronze base. The new awards were designed by the late art director Romain Johnston.

Full List of Honorees

Many Hall of Fame inductees are also participants in The Interviews. Watch their oral history interviews by clicking on the linked names below.

23rd Hall of Fame: Ray Dolby, David E. Kelley, Jay Leno, Julia Louis-Dreyfus, Rupert Murdoch, Brandon Stoddard

22nd Hall of Fame: Ron Howard, Al Michaels, Les Moonves, Bob Schieffer, Dick Wolf, and Philo T. Farnsworth

21st Hall of Fame: Mary-Ellis Bunim & Jonathan Murray, Michael Eisner, Bill Klages, Mario Kreutzberger, Chuck Lorre, William Frawley & Vivian Vance

20th Hall of Fame: Diahann Carroll, Tom Freston, Earle Hagen, Susan Harris, Peter Jennings, Cloris Leachman, Bill Todman

19th Hall of Fame: The Smothers Brothers (Tom and Dick), Candice Bergen, Bob Stewart, Charles Lisanby, Don Pardo, Gene Roddenberry

18th Hall of Fame: Beatrice Arthur, Larry Gelbart, Merv Griffin, Thomas S. Murphy & Daniel B. Burke, Sherwood Schwartz

17th Hall of Fame: Tom Brokaw, James Burrows, Leonard Goldberg, Regis Philbin, William Shatner

16th Hall of Fame: Bob Barker, Art Carney, Katie Couric, Dan Rather, Brandon Tartikoff, Charles Cappleman

15th Hall of Fame: Tim Conway & Harvey Korman, John Frankenheimer, Bob Mackie, Jean Stapleton, Bud Yorkin

14th Hall of Fame: Herbert Brodkin, Robert MacNeil & Jim Lehrer, Lorne Michaels, Carl Reiner, Fred Rogers, Fred Silverman, Ethel Winant

13th Hall of Fame: James L. Brooks, Garry Marshall, Quinn Martin, Diane Sawyer, Grant Tinker

12th Hall of Fame: Edward Asner, Steven Bochco, Marcy Carsey & Tom Werner, Charles Kuralt, Angela Lansbury, Aaron Spelling, Lew R. Wasserman

11th Hall of Fame: Michael Landon, Richard Levinson & William Link, Jim McKay, Bill Moyers, Dick Van Dyke, Betty White

10th Hall of Fame: Alan Alda, Howard Cosell, Barry Diller, Fred W. Friendly, William Hanna & Joseph Barbera, Oprah Winfrey

9th Hall of Fame: John Chancellor, Dick Clark, Phil Donahue, Mark Goodson, Bob Newhart, Agnes Nixon, Jack Webb

8th Hall of Fame: Bill Cosby, Andy Griffith, Ted Koppel, Sheldon Leonard, Dinah Shore, Ted Turner

7th Hall of Fame: Leonard Bernstein, Desi Arnaz, Mike Wallace, Danny Thomas, James Garner, and the series I Love Lucy

6th Hall of Fame: Roone Arledge, Fred Astaire, Perry Como, Joan Ganz Cooney, Don Hewitt, Carroll O'Connor, Barbara Walters

5th Hall of Fame: Jack Benny, George Burns & Gracie Allen, Chet Huntley & David Brinkley, Red Skelton, David Susskind, David L. Wolper

4th Hall of Fame: Johnny Carson, Jacques-Yves Cousteau, Leonard Goldenson, Jim Henson, Bob Hope, Ernie Kovacs, Eric Sevareid

3rd Hall of Fame: Steve Allen, Fred Coe, Walt Disney, Jackie Gleason, Mary Tyler Moore, Frank Stanton, Burr Tillstrom

2nd Hall of Fame: Carol Burnett, Sid Caesar, Walter Cronkite, Joyce C. Hall, Rod Serling, Ed Sullivan, Sylvester L. (Pat) Weaver, Jr.

1st Hall of Fame: Lucille Ball, Milton Berle, Paddy Chayefsky, Norman Lear, Edward R. Murrow, William S. Paley, David Sarnoff